You are here

Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

Postby Dennis Pizarra » Sun Dec 09, 2018 4:28 am

:wave:
Dennis Pizarra
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 4:22 am

Re: Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

Postby Sam Spoons » Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:45 pm

The B1 is passive so you would need a power amp (like the Bose A1 power section) for use with the StagePass 400. I doubt you will gain anything useful adding a 2 x 51/2" sub to a pair of 10" + Horn speakers though and you'd be better with a single 12" or 15" powered sub like an EV ZXA1 or similar.

https://www.electrovoice.com/product.php?id=1170
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8717
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

Postby Wonks » Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:15 pm

I'm not sure that the EV Sam pointed to would be a good match for the Yamaha system as it's got a fixed crossover of 100Hz, whilst the 400i sub out is crossed over at 120Hz.

Something like the Behringer B1200D sub would probably be a better match for the Stagepas as it's got an adjustable crossover frequency (set it to 150Hz to work well with the Stagepas) and isn't very expensive. You may not fancy Behringer but if so, look for an active/powered sub where the crossover frequency can be set at or (more ideally) above 120Hz. I've never heard one though, so can't vouch for it's sonic accuracy - though I've never heard a Bose B1.

The Yamaha DXS12 is almost a match with a 120Hz setting, but there could still be a noticeable dip in response around 120Hz as there will be two 120Hz low-pass filters in series.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8225
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

Postby Sam Spoons » Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:58 pm

Well spotted Wonks :thumbup:
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8717
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

Postby resistorman » Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:18 am

The Bose B1 subs put out a surprising amount of bass, but you really need to power it with a Bose amp made for it that has sensing feedback. Don't ask me how I know...
User avatar
resistorman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 608
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 1:00 am
Location: Asheville NC
future26.com

Re: Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

Postby Wonks » Mon Dec 10, 2018 11:39 am

Unfortunately the data Bose issue on the B1 module is basically zero. So no impedance, maximum power handling, Max SPL, or frequency response/required crossover frequency figures. Bose mean it to be used with the L1 and that's it.

Andertons have more data on their web page for it than I could find on the Bose web site. So the B1 is 125W and 8 ohms.

Did it put out a lot of smoke, Resistorman? ;)
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8225
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

Postby Sam Spoons » Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:46 pm

Wonks wrote:I'm not sure that the EV Sam pointed to would be a good match for the Yamaha system as it's got a fixed crossover of 100Hz, whilst the 400i sub out is crossed over at 120Hz.

Something like the Behringer B1200D sub would probably be a better match for the Stagepas as it's got an adjustable crossover frequency (set it to 150Hz to work well with the Stagepas) and isn't very expensive. You may not fancy Behringer but if so, look for an active/powered sub where the crossover frequency can be set at or (more ideally) above 120Hz. I've never heard one though, so can't vouch for it's sonic accuracy - though I've never heard a Bose B1.

The Yamaha DXS12 is almost a match with a 120Hz setting, but there could still be a noticeable dip in response around 120Hz as there will be two 120Hz low-pass filters in series.

The StagePass 400 manual has this to say about the sub output :-

"SUBWOOFER OUT jack
This is for connection to a powered subwoofer, and outputs a mono signal. If this jack is in use, the low frequencies below 120Hz to the SPEAKERS L/R jacks will be cut. The output level is linked to that of the MASTER LEVEL control "

Which implies that the crossover only has the HPF element acting on the tops and sends a full range signal from the sub output (relying on the LPF in an active sub) so either the Berry (which has a variable LPF so set it to 120 Hz) or the Yamaha DXS 12 would be a good match WRT crossover, but the Yamaha would be total overkill for this rig as it is way to powerful (and, probably, way too expensive).
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8717
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

Postby Wonks » Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:06 pm

That's very possible, though the manual is rather sparse on a lot of detail, so it may be something the OP could check if they have any monitors, and feed a monitor from the subwoofer signal output and see if they get a full range or low-pass signal.

As to whether the Yamaha sub is excessive - well possibly in terms of output. But I bet the sound quality is going to be a lot better than the Behringer, which will probably give a lot of 'thump and thud' but a lot less musical detail than the Yamaha.

But if budget is limited, then you just have to get what you can afford.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8225
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

Postby Sam Spoons » Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:26 pm

As good as it is for it's intended purpose the Stagepass 400 is far from a colossus of the PA world with a max SPL of 125dB :D (ok, per speaker so that's 128dB SPL but the DXS12 sub does 134dB SPL.......
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8717
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

Postby Wonks » Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:43 pm

So they won't need to upgrade it when they upgrade the Stagepas system. :)
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8225
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

Postby Sam Spoons » Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:18 pm

A good point well made sir :clap:
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8717
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

Postby Mike Stranks » Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:27 pm

Yoohoo! Mr OP! You still here? :wave:
User avatar
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6147
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire, UK

Re: Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

Postby Sam Spoons » Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:34 pm

:wave: :thumbup:
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8717
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

Postby Wonks » Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:45 pm

He hasn't been back since posting.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8225
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Can i use subwoofer bose b1 module to my yamaha stagepas 400i ?

Postby Wonks » Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:47 pm

Sam Spoons wrote:A good point well made sir :clap:

The problem is that there are hundreds of options available, but all depend on budget, your current application and future intent. Storage and transportation also play their part.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8225
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fatbenelton