You are here

Mackie 808M power amp in jack not isolating?

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Mackie 808M power amp in jack not isolating?

Postby Soundside » Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:42 am

Hi all, newbie here,
I'm trying to put an EQ between the line out and power amp in on the 808M per the manual. But I noticed that the power amp in jack does not appear to isolate the amp from the mixer as the manual states. It says that when you insert a plug into that jack, it breaks the connection between the mixer and amp. But with a signal in an input channel, if I plug a plug into the power amp in jack, I can still hear the program from that channel loud and clear.
Now, if I plug a signal straight into the amp in jack, it does in fact pass the signal to the amp. But I'm not getting the expected behavior out of the EQ so I'm wondering if I have a problem with the jacks or something. Although, these jacks have hardly ever been used, they are tight, no signs of mechanical issues.
Any guidance is appreciated.
Soundside
New here

Re: Mackie 808M power amp in jack not isolating?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:28 am

As you say the socket is tight, I'm wondering if you're not pushing the jack plug fully home to disengage the internal switch contact.

It might be worth trying with a different brand of jack plug as the dimension tolerances do vary between brands.

H
Hugh Robjohns
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Postby Wonks » Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:58 am

The block diagram does show the jack tip breaking the through connection when inserted. Although a TRS socket, it's an unbalanced input and the R connection is taken to ground.