You are here

MixWizard WZ4 16:2 need a multicore

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

MixWizard WZ4 16:2 need a multicore

Postby manleyelop » Tue Feb 19, 2019 9:03 pm

i have the MixWizard WZ4 16:2

Can anyone recommend a good quality 30 meter 16 in 6 return (approx ) multicore ?
User avatar
manleyelop
Regular
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:00 am
Location:

Re: MixWizard WZ4 16:2 need a multicore

Postby Janneman » Tue Feb 19, 2019 9:07 pm

What is your budget?
Janneman
Regular
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 12:00 am
Kind regards,   Jan van Duren

Re: MixWizard WZ4 16:2 need a multicore

Postby manleyelop » Tue Feb 19, 2019 9:16 pm

Janneman wrote:What is your budget?

Lets say £500 max i've had a 30 meter piranha multicore for yrs never let me down but it's only 8 in 4 return unless i could modify it somehow i need something to allow more stage monitors & sends ive got 2x desks A&H 8:2 & A&H 16:2
User avatar
manleyelop
Regular
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:00 am
Location:

Re: MixWizard WZ4 16:2 need a multicore

Postby James Perrett » Tue Feb 19, 2019 9:52 pm

Do you really need 6 returns? 16 inputs with 4 returns is a common configuration whereas you may need to go up to 24 inputs for 8 returns. I've used a couple of the ones at

https://www.rapcohorizon.com/product/28 ... urn-snakes

which seem reasonably solid although I'm not using them for regular live gigs. I also paid much less than the price on that page (although it was a while ago).
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 8018
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: MixWizard WZ4 16:2 need a multicore

Postby MarkPAman » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:07 pm

How about a second 8+4? Or maybe a 12+4 which are quite common?

You get the option to use one or both depending on the gig, and the useful flexibility to put them in different places on stage - front and back, or left and right.
MarkPAman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 801
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Somewhere between Portsmouth & Chichester

Re: MixWizard WZ4 16:2 need a multicore

Postby manleyelop » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:12 pm

James Perrett wrote:Do you really need 6 returns?

i get asked for 3x independent stage monitors now & again so yes 2 returns are taken by the p.a power amps which leaves me 2 i need one extra return atleast unless im missing something if so im all ears
User avatar
manleyelop
Regular
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:00 am
Location:

Re: MixWizard WZ4 16:2 need a multicore

Postby Mike Stranks » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:19 pm

I would frequently be running 6 lines back to the stage when I was in 'full-blown' mode - 2 for FoH plus 4 monitor mixes.

I was using a 16:4 and just used some XLR gender-changes to give me an additional 2 returns, thus making the snake into a 14:6. :)
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6346
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 1:00 am

Re: MixWizard WZ4 16:2 need a multicore

Postby manleyelop » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:27 pm

Mike Stranks wrote:I would frequently be running 6 lines back to the stage when I was in 'full-blown' mode - 2 for FoH plus 4 monitor mixes.

I was using a 16:4 and just used some XLR gender-changes to give me an additional 2 returns, thus making the snake into a 14:6. :)

Hi Mike yes i was wondering if i could modify the 8/4 somehow making it an 8/5 by adding a cable onto it instead of spending more cash than i need to gaffa tape gets messy though
User avatar
manleyelop
Regular
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:00 am
Location:

Re: MixWizard WZ4 16:2 need a multicore

Postby manleyelop » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:31 pm

MarkPAman wrote:How about a second 8+4? Or maybe a 12+4 which are quite common?

You get the option to use one or both depending on the gig, and the useful flexibility to put them in different places on stage - front and back, or left and right.

Hmm now that could be a good idea i constantly have to modify depending on the gig :bouncy:
User avatar
manleyelop
Regular
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:00 am
Location:

Re: MixWizard WZ4 16:2 need a multicore

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:39 pm

Yes, I'd also suggest a second 8-4 multi. Cheaper, lighter, more flexibility.
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 23220
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: MixWizard WZ4 16:2 need a multicore

Postby manleyelop » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:40 pm

Hugh Robjohns wrote:Yes, I'd also suggest a second 8-4 multi. Cheaper, lighter, more flexibility.
yes great idea now why didn't i think of that :headbang:
User avatar
manleyelop
Regular
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:00 am
Location:


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users