You are here

Outdoor sounds

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Outdoor sounds

Postby rhill69 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:27 am

I've been doing sound for a couple years for my sons band. Equipment (QU16 board, 4xKw181,
2x kw152, 2x kw152, 2x kw122 mains. 4 ev 12" monitors. All our gigs up until now have been indoors.1 set of mains with either 1 or 2 subs. We have several outdoor gigs, smaller festivals with a stage coming up. My ideal set up because of 60degree focus of the speaker would be 2 sets of kw152 but I dont have them. How can I use the speakers I do have properly with crossing or creating unwanted distortion or sound. The 153/122 are both 75 degree.
rhill69

Re: Outdoor sounds

Postby Mike Monte » Thu Aug 15, 2019 2:25 am

Small festivals (with a multi-band stage) usually provide a PA for the day to keep the switch-over time down to a minimum.
however
If you have to bring your own PA I'd center cluster your subs (two or all four of them) in front of the stage and use one kw152 per side.

I have done small festival work with a similar rig (from Yorkville). It works well in a small festival situation.

A note: You'd be best to check the power situation if you are to bring your own PA.
Mike Monte
Poster

Postby rhill69 » Thu Aug 15, 2019 4:20 am

Thank you I would have never thought to center the subs. But does make sense. 2 mains should be ok? I know the 152 are on 60degree and it's a wide lawn area for viewing band and roughly 250-300' to where food trucks will be parked with seating also. Obviously more for the lawn seats for the band. We are only band for 3x 1hr sets with 20 minute between so they can do local announcements and 50/50 type things in between.
rhill69

Postby Mike Monte » Thu Aug 15, 2019 12:17 pm