You are here

Bass amp as bass monitor also hooked to mixer

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Bass amp as bass monitor also hooked to mixer

Postby MaxTK » Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:33 am

Hi. I’m a rookie. I just bought my first mixer, MG16XU.

My bass guitarist would like to use his bass amp as monitor. Shall I:
Connect bass guitar to amp then amp to Aux 1 of mixer or
Connect amp to Aux 1 then bass to Aux 2 of mixer or
Are there better ways?

Thank you.
MaxTK
New here

Re: Bass amp as bass monitor also hooked to mixer

Postby Dr R » Wed Sep 04, 2019 8:32 am

Hi MaxTK,

Several questions:

Does the bass player want to hear a combination of his bass playing and the rest of the band from one speaker - ie his amp - rather than have a monitor for the band and his amp as well?
Does he currently plug his bass into the amp, then run a DI out from the amp to the desk, or do you mic up the amp?
What inputs and outputs are on his amp? What make/model is it?

Funilly enough I bought my bass practice amp a few weeks ago with just the first scenario in mind, though I've not used it that way yet. My amp has a DI out and also an aux/line in so you can play along to practice tracks. But handilly the DI output is only the bass guitar signal post eq, which means I could take a monitor input onto the aux, ahear that and the guitar through the bass cab, and sent a clean DI signal back to the desk.

Rich
Dr R
Regular
My ambition: To one day have enough experience to answer technical questions on the SOS forums, as well as asking them 

Postby MaxTK » Wed Sep 04, 2019 11:11 am