You are here

Live Sound Newbie + Mixer with No Manual...Help?

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Live Sound Newbie + Mixer with No Manual...Help?

Postby nelsonizer » Sun Nov 03, 2019 6:39 pm

Hi Everybody,

I’m new to the forum and new to live sound. I’m a guitarist who just started playing live gigs in my city. This off-brand mixing board below is the equipment that I have. I live in an African city with no shops, so I don’t have any way to get any new equipment besides maybe some cables, so I’m making due with what I have. I’ve got some problems and I need some advice from people who know.

I am suffering from very bad feedback. I try moving the speakers away, pointing in different directions, but huge feedback after turning up the Blue FX SEND knob to get more volume.

- I cannot figure out how to turn the effects from the mixing board off. I don’t want the built in reverb or delay. It’s causing massive feedback. There appears to be no button that says effects bypass or effects on/off. Do you see any way to bypass the effects?

- The FX SEND knob seems to be controlling the volume, but if I try to make it loud, it creates huge feedback and then I am forced to turn down again. I try compensating with the gain, but then the vocals become very distorted.

- I cannot get the guitar effects pedal (POD HD500X) to show up in the monitors. It comes out fine from the speaker, but doesn’t want to come to the monitors. I am using Aux1 SEND and Aux 2 SEND outputs to run the in-ear monitors and using the AUX1 and FX/AUX2 to control the sound levels of each instrument.

- What do the small white G1/G2 buttons do under each channel. I cannot see the function.

- What is the purpose of the UNBALANCE RIGHT; UNBALANCE LEFT; G1 G2 ports at the top. Are these output channels?

Thank you so much for your help and patience for advice. I am new but trying to learn.

SET-UP

Inputs:
Channel 1 - Lead Vocal: SM57
Channel 2 - Backup Singer: SM57