You are here

Mix and match mics and transmitter?

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Mix and match mics and transmitter?

Postby pauljanssen » Mon Jan 06, 2020 7:21 pm

Apologies for being a total non-tech before I say anything else. This is what I’m asking. I’m a pastor of a local church. We have sennheiser belt-worn battery pack/transmitter devices into which we are plugging sennheiser lapel mics. Sorry, I don’t have model numbers at hand at the moment. We are thinking of going to headworn mics for the sake of better sound quality. Question: is it possible to use headworn mics manufactured by other companies? What do we we need to look out for, if we do use another microphone? What technically, I mean? Or is it in general just a bad idea to use another brand? Thank you for indulging my non-technical nature.
pauljanssen

Re: Mix and match mics and transmitter?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Mon Jan 06, 2020 7:32 pm

Welcome to the SOS forums.

In general, yes you can mix and match mics and transmitters. Obviously, they need compatible connectors. Technically, you need to ensure compatible mic sensitivity and bias voltage, too, but if the connectors match the chances are all will be well -- although you may need to adjust the transmitter gain control to suit the closer mic placement.

If you can let us know the details of what you currently have and the new mic you'd like to use we should be able to provide further reassurance/advice.
Hugh Robjohns
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Postby RMCL » Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:15 am

I assuming that you have Sennheiser bodypack transmitters into which are plugged 3.5mm mini jacks (with threaded locking mechanism) so if you search on Amazon for Headset Mic Compatible with Sennheiser Wireless System or Headset Mic 3.5mm Screw Lock you will find them.