You are here

Help for a beginner. Can I link Alto speakers together to get louder sound ?

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Help for a beginner. Can I link Alto speakers together to get louder sound ?

Postby badwolf » Fri Mar 06, 2020 12:20 pm

Hi All
Please bare with me as Im new to this and not an audio expert in any way.
I have 2 audio technica turntables at home ( LP-120 model ) I connect those into my Numark 3 channel mixer ( M4 model ) and my speakers are connected to 2 Alto TX208 speakers. These speakers have 300 watts stickers but I have since found out that is peak performance.

I am a bedroom mixer of house music. I spend hours just mixing tracks together for personal enjoyment. Its more than loud enough for my house and bedroom mixing.

Ive been asked to do a couple of favors for friends , and do some music for a small village hall party. My speakers sound pretty loud to me , but am worried that if I try and take these into a hall Im going to look a bit silly. Guess my first thought is do I need an amp ? Will an amp make the volume or ability to fill the space with volume any better ?
My turntables have a pre amp built in ( not entirely sure what that means )

My other thought is to buy a 3rd speaker of slightly larger volume and wattage , maybe a Alto TX215 type speaker which will be much louder.
Then maybe daisy chain this into my existing 2 speaker set up to get a boost and increase the volume and output of what Im playing. ?
Would this work ? or am I greatly misguided.

Like I said Im new to this , dont know much about audio and correct set up.
Im not planning to make a living outta this either , just doing a couple of small gigs for friends and then Im out , so dont want to spend a lot of money either. Happy to be a bedroom mixer .

Any thoughts or advice on either amp making things louder or adding a third speaker to increase .

Many thanks in advance from a Noob
badwolf