You are here

Mic cuts out when not very close to singer

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Moderator: Moderators

Mic cuts out when not very close to singer

Postby jcmathews » Sat Dec 12, 2020 5:56 pm

Hi - apologies in advance for what may be a very elementary question in a professional level forum. I'm not a sound engineer, just a guitar player in a band trying to solve a problem.

Our lead vocalist uses a Sennheiser EW 100 945 wireless system, processed through a Voicelive 3 Extreme. It sounds great, but if the mic is not very close to her mouth it cuts out, as if it is set to shut off if the input isn't hot enough. Is that because it's a supercardoid mic, or could it be some kind of sensitivity setting in the mic receiver or the Voicelive? As it is, she's not able to move the mic around to control her voice volume.

We lost our sound guy a few weeks back, and this is a new mic for our vocalist, so we're just trying to sort it out -- mostly stumbling around in the dark. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide!
jcmathews

Re: Mic cuts out when not very close to singer

Postby MOF » Sat Dec 12, 2020 6:24 pm

I think you have a ‘gate’ function enabled, there might be one in the Voicelive 3 Extreme or less likely the radio mic’ system. Experiment with the latter to see if the audio meter on the receiver is going to zero when the audio no longer sounds. If it doesn’t then the fault isn’t there.
I did wonder about the mic’s squelch control but that only mutes when there’s poor reception, and the compansion system is the only other possibility, experiment with settings there.
MOF
Frequent Poster

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Sat Dec 12, 2020 6:35 pm

There are several possibilities, as MOF has outlined.