You are here

Your first contract!

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Moderator: Moderators

Your first contract!

Postby PapaGanush » Tue Mar 16, 2021 5:27 pm

Hello all,

This question is for self-employed engineers who worked alone most of their times in weddings partys and small gatherings.

I am a freshly graduated sound engineer, these times are hard for us to start a career in live music but we adapt, wait and prepare as much as we can for when days will go back to normal.

Before it used to be a word of mouth, it is still valid of course but we have so many ways now to promote yourself just like Facebook now you pay like $30 a month to promote yourself. Or creating a website which I did. I'm asking you how did you get your first contract I'm only curious about your story your first contract.
I'm just trying to find all ways possible remote myself as a self-employed independent sound technician with my own PA system for now and day by day I keep investing in more equipment.

Share your story
PapaGanush
Poster

Re: Your first contract!

Postby blinddrew » Tue Mar 16, 2021 5:31 pm

Yeah, me too.
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Postby PapaGanush » Tue Mar 16, 2021 5:34 pm

blinddrew wrote:Yeah, me too.

Lol sorry I publish it before finishing my story xD
PapaGanush
Poster

Postby blinddrew » Tue Mar 16, 2021 5:44 pm

My first live sound gig was simply providing the kit for our band to do a charity gig at our rugby club. Wasn't great, learned a lot, bought a new mixer very quickly!
Second one was another charity gig, but a bit more involved and first 'proper' gig I'd say, at this one I just stepped in because the original engineer got sick and had to drop out.
blinddrew
Jedi Poster

Postby CS70 » Tue Mar 16, 2021 6:00 pm

Word of mouth :D
CS70
Jedi Poster
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video and the FB page

Postby PapaGanush » Tue Mar 16, 2021 6:08 pm