You are here

SM Pro Audio TC02

Post your own hardware/software reviews.

SM Pro Audio TC02

Postby Hamund » Wed May 02, 2012 3:17 am

SM Pro TC02 Dual mic preamp and DI in a 19" metal rack box. Designed in the free land of Australia and like so many things these days, manufactured in 'The Peoples Republic of China'.
There is a single valve inside serving the 2 channels on the input stage. Go figure - you'll need an expert to explain that one!
So it's a CLASS A Transformless high voltage signal path preamp with a sexy red metal face. It's a nice change from all that black stuff. If you like shiney, you'll love this.

I needed a dual preamp because I wanted to record piano in stereo. I'm a musician, so I didnt want to spend too much. The TC02 has phantom power, phase reversal, and -20 dB PAD and an optical compressor on both channels. XLR and 1/4'' on input and output. For €200 this spec is hard to beat.

My first impressions out of the box were not good - the level meters (which are sealed and cannot be cleaned) had a 'frosting' inside. Like a dust residue after condensation. Yuk! OK, it's just cosmetic and they work just fine, but I hate that kind of thing - what the hay?- lets take her out for a test run.
Power up, disappointment no.2 - the level meters lights have different intensities. One is dimmer than the other. Now I'm thinking of sending it back. I open her up to see whats going on to discover a nice big single tube and two circuit boards. One board rather clumsily snapped into place and forcing the assembler to bend one of the LEDs illuminating the dimmer volume meter - with the box unplugged and a little fiddling I managed to fix this. Hurray for me!