You are here

Dust (meta-review)

Post your own hardware/software reviews.

Dust (meta-review)

Postby Eddy Deegan » Wed Jun 10, 2020 12:03 am

I have had a bit of a dust problem in my studio for far too long now. Regular dusting and cleaning works to keep it at bay plus I have dust covers for all my gear but it's always been something of a pain and I finally got round to trying out an alternative solution in the form of an air purifier.

I have no prior experience with air purifiers and selected mine based on some user reviews and a few web searches. It's a futuristic-looking cylindrical object approximately 15" high and 9" in diameter. There is a circular vent on top with some flush touch-sensitive controls alongside and slots for air-intake around the bottom.

The controls are simple: on/off, night light (illuminates the central portion of the top with a pleasant ambient blue glow) and a fan speed button which cycles through low/medium/high settings.

Internally there is a pre-filter followed by a HEPA (High-Efficiency Particulate Air) filter followed by an activated carbon filter through all of which air is drawn by an internal fan via the slots in the lower sides of the cylinder. After passing through the filters the purified air is expelled vertically upwards through a ring of vents on the top.

Rated at 25w it can be run as and when desired, or permanently. The filter is supposed to last up to 6 months before needing replacement (a straightforward 'plug and play' operation) although mileage may vary based on environment, fan speed and usage. I've not had mine long enough to comment further on that.

At the lowest speed the fan is very quiet, certainly quiet enough to be on while I'm working at my desk nearby (I work from home and use my studio as an office) though I turn it off when doing music. At medium and high speeds it is rather louder but still quieter than I would expect considering the amount of air that comes out the top at those settings.