You are here

Session Notes: Audiobook Recording - Dec 2016

For feedback and suggestions about the SOS magazine, app, web site or forums.

Session Notes: Audiobook Recording - Dec 2016

Postby Mike Stranks » Fri Nov 18, 2016 11:19 am

Hi fives to Mike Senior for an excellent article.

I've been doing this sort of stuff for over 40 years and found myself nodding in agreement throughout the piece.

A few 'amplifiers' if I may...

The importance of excluding extraneous noise cannot be emphasised too much. Mike's highlighted important areas, but I'd add the possible need to turn-off the central heating/hot-water system. Working with the noise-floors needed in this type of work, pump noise can be an issue as can 'clicking' radiators. I've solved the problem of computer noise by not using one! For many years I've used a solid-state recorder for this sort of work with everything else in the room physically switched off.

You really do need a good, dead room. What passes as 'acceptable' for music/vocals really won't cut it for spoken voice. My room is pretty dead anyway, but when recording voice I'll usually augment it with a couple of duvets - one hanging immediately behind me/the talent and one cot-size one covering the desk and (switched-off) computer screen.

Your signal to noise ratio is crucial. Mics with a highish self-noise are not good enough and nor are preamps that get hissy when you wind up the gain. Be ruthless with system hum and groundloops.

This isn't the place for 'character' mics. As neutral as possible. (There is a bigger debate to be had about using 'flavoured' mics to help with certain voice features, but I won''t start that here!)