You are here

Ad blocker

For feedback and suggestions about the SOS magazine, app, web site or forums.

Ad blocker

Postby ConcertinaChap » Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:56 am

I've just had a popup asking me to remove my ad blocker and I thought I'd post to say why I'm not doing so. I have tried using this site without the ad blocker and I've found the adverts almost intolerable. I can't blame them, their developers want them to be noticed after all, so they flash and jump around and generally distract me in a way I find difficult to live with.

On the other hand, I understand that SoS needs income to continue and without income there would be no forum, which would be a real loss to me. So how do I square that particular circle? The answer is I have a digital subscription. Getting to see the articles 6 months earlier than without a subscription is nice but not a major thing, it's mostly to fund the site that I have it.

If you could mandate less dominating and distracting ads then I'd turn off my ad blocker (and I promise to keep the subscription going too :) ).

CC
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Ad Blocker 2

Postby mac.churchmouse » Thu Nov 09, 2017 12:09 pm

I use an ad blocker - so? I don't need some nasty little pop up to remind me. I buy a hard copy of your magazine at full (plus) price from my local Sydney newsagent. If that's not good enough for you I can alway use my funds to buy more studio gear! And I will ...
Afterall, I am fairly blocked from the latest online content and I was just checking out the forum. Might I suggest that 25 years of purchasing and reading your esteemed magazine is not best rewarded by you getting uptight, white male, self righteous, and neoliberal (ie Tory) about it all.
Kindly get over yourselves,
Mac
mac.churchmouse
Poster

Re: Ad Blocker 2

Postby ConcertinaChap » Thu Nov 09, 2017 12:14 pm