You are here

Do I need a mic’ preamp? - Sam Inglis video.

For feedback and suggestions about the SOS magazine, app, web site or forums.

Do I need a mic’ preamp? - Sam Inglis video.

Postby MOF » Thu Sep 24, 2020 2:38 pm

Sam only refers to digital inputs for using external mic’ preamps, once you need more than the usual two mic’ inputs on your interface.
Quite a lot of interfaces have more analogue line level inputs than the two mic/line inputs which can be used for external mic preamps.
MOF
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1243
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 1:00 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Do I need a mic’ preamp? - Sam Inglis video.

Postby blinddrew » Thu Sep 24, 2020 5:30 pm

Yep, I thought that when I watched it. Then I got distracted by the thesaurus busting... :)
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11623
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Do I need a mic’ preamp? - Sam Inglis video.

Postby Sam Inglis » Thu Sep 24, 2020 6:15 pm

That was one of the things I was going to say... but decided to keep it short.

And actually, these days, there are surprisingly few audio interfaces that do have any line-only analogue inputs (apart from ones that just have lots of line ins and nothing else).
Sam Inglis
Moderator
Posts: 2676
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 1:00 am

Re: Do I need a mic’ preamp? - Sam Inglis video.

Postby shufflebeat » Fri Sep 25, 2020 11:25 am

Enjoyed that.
shufflebeat
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5179
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Manchester, UK
"Dance, dance. wherever you may be, for I am the Lord of the damp settee..."

Do yourself a favour, wear earplugs at gigs.

Re: Do I need a mic’ preamp? - Sam Inglis video.

Postby MOF » Fri Sep 25, 2020 8:11 pm

That was one of the things I was going to say... but decided to keep it short.

And actually, these days, there are surprisingly few audio interfaces that do have any line-only analogue inputs (apart from ones that just have lots of line ins and nothing else).

I was going on the basis of my UAD rack version, 8 line inputs but only 2 mic' slots. In the past, to keep costs down it was usually like that and I haven't been looking to change so I wasn't aware that situation was changing.
I only mentioned it to make sure that newcomers to home recording would realise it was an option.
MOF
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1243
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 1:00 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Do I need a mic’ preamp? - Sam Inglis video.

Postby blinddrew » Fri Sep 25, 2020 8:19 pm

Likewise I have two interfaces, both with an additional line inputs as well as the microphone ones.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11623
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Do I need a mic’ preamp? - Sam Inglis video.

Postby shufflebeat » Fri Sep 25, 2020 8:48 pm

I had a DMP3, an ada8000 and a F/R trakmaster supplementing the input count on ye olde 18i6 but that has been passed to a grateful descendant whose i/o requirement is greater than mine.

Nice shiny ssl2+ instead.

:)
shufflebeat
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5179
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Manchester, UK
"Dance, dance. wherever you may be, for I am the Lord of the damp settee..."

Do yourself a favour, wear earplugs at gigs.