You are here

Help connecting XLR to RCA ON MY EQ

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Help connecting XLR to RCA ON MY EQ

Postby robbie50 » Fri Sep 25, 2020 9:33 pm

Hi everyone,
I’m new here so forgive me if I break any site etiquettes.
My problem is this, I’m a semi novice PA builder, I’ve built the speakers (2 x sub boxes with 1 x 15” sub in each and 2 Mid boxes, low mid and high mid and s horn to top off the HF)

I’ve connected it all to a cheap amp so if I fry the amp I won’t be too upset.

My question is this:

I just purchased a BBE EQA-231 EQ. on the back panel there are two channels A & B with in/out XLR ports per Chanel.

The cheap amp has 2 RCA audio inputs and 1 RCA line output.
I would post photos but I don’t think I can on here.

I’m at a loss as to how to connect this, I’ve tried every conceivable way and it doesn’t work. I get noisy sound from one channel and none from the other or I get it out of both but no control using the Gain control on the EQ.

Am I trying to fit a round peg in a round hole here or is there a work around? I’ve bought a stack of XLR to rca cables and have tried all sorts of connections that my speakers didn’t like!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Thanks,
Rob
robbie50

Re: Help connecting XLR to RCA ON MY EQ

Postby ef37a » Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:00 pm

Hi Rob and welcome.

Firstly, have you tried the amplifier and speakers e.g. the RCA outs of a tape or cassette machine? A phone?

Assuming that all works, what are you driving the EQ with? I am sure you know but the balanced outputs of the eq should connect pin 1 of the XLR to the screen of the RCA plug and pin 2 XLR to the tip. You can check that very quickly with your test meter, I mean, you are NOT going to tell us you built all that kit without one, are you?

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster

Postby robbie50 » Sat Sep 26, 2020 8:37 am

Hi Dave,