You are here

Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby desmond » Tue Aug 21, 2018 11:33 am

audio_jungle wrote:But it doesn't work for me... ;-)

The *feature* is working fine in Audacity, it's the overall behaviour of all the other components that aren't doing what you want yet. You have to break down and isolate things to troubleshoot.

You've already said that if you don't monitor in Audacity, and monitor via Loopback, everything works as you need. So why not stop there? - it's working how you like.

We can go on to troubleshoot this alternative way of using the system (monitoring through Audacity) but if you already have a config that is working, it's just a waste of time.

In this monitoring via Audacity case, the problem seems to be that really you always want to monitor back to your headset, which is a combined mic+headphones device, and one that you have *already captured* in Loopback - so you're outputting back to a device already captured by Loopback.

So, it seems wise to just monitor via Loopback, in the way you already have working.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8782
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby desmond » Tue Aug 21, 2018 3:38 pm

So I tried again to more closely simulate your config there and observe the behaviour:-

- Loopback, hijacking both Quicktime Player (playing audio), *and* my audio interface (which you can both record from/input and monitor from/output) as simulating your USB headset (which is your audio interface really.) Headphones connected to that. Mute sources On in Loopback as I'm monitoring through Audacity.

- System output set to my audio interface too.

- Audacity, set to record from Loopback (3 channels, 1 stereo, 1 mono, manual channel config in Loopback), and output back to my audio interface. Playthrough On.

- Begin playback from Quicktime. The audio is passed to the system, and I hear it from my headphones via the audio interface.

- Hit record in Audacity. There is a brief audio interruption (maybe 1/10th second) as Loopback enables itself. It mutes the audio being sent from Quicktime to the system (as Mute sources is On), and instead passes it through to Loopback, and hence to Audacity, where it's being recorded.

- Audacity has playthrough on, so is monitoring it's incoming audio and sending it back to it's own output, which is set to go to my audio interface. I hear it fine via Audacity. I'm recording three tracks, the first two the stereo audio, the third the mono input from the audio interface (ie your mic). All recorded fine.

So there is no inherent problem in playing back to a device already hijacked in Audacity, as inputs and outputs are treated separately (which makes sense.) I just wanted to confirm that and rule it out as a possible problem.

Everything about this config is working fine, and should be for you too as it's essentially the same thing, unless you are doing something incorrect or have some settings affecting the behaviour that hasn't been mentioned, or the drivers of your headset mic thing are causing problems or something. Unfortunately I can't sit in front of your computer and see what you are doing, so it's impossible to guess.

*In any case*, you have got to a set up that works for you, as far as I can see, by not monitoring from Audacity and intead using Loopback's monitoring, so as I say, stick to what works... :thumbup:

Things I have learnt from this exercise:

- Loopback is really great, and streamlines some otherwise complicated workflows. If/When I need it I'll get it for sure

- Audio Hijack is still great and covers much of the use case of Loopback for my needs. It's much simpler to use in this case as you can see the visual connections, see audio flowing along them, and has inbuilt recorder functionality so one app does the routing, hijacking, and recording, rather than passing things around between the system and other applications. The only thing Loopback can do that AH can't is pass audio to other applications (but I can do that with Soundflower if required.).

This is the exact same config as above, all done in one app:

Image

Mic being recorded to one mono aiff file, stereo audio being recorded to a separate one. We could also record a third mix file of both, if required, in realtime. And avoids the need to use Audacity. ;)

- I still feel the same way about Audacity as I did when I started. :headbang:
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8782
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby audio_jungle » Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:18 am

desmond wrote:
audio_jungle wrote:But it doesn't work for me... ;-)

The *feature* is working fine in Audacity, it's the overall behaviour of all the other components that aren't doing what you want yet. You have to break down and isolate things to troubleshoot.

You've already said that if you don't monitor in Audacity, and monitor via Loopback, everything works as you need. So why not stop there? - it's working how you like.

That is fine with me.

SInce you said you were able to get it working, I was just trying to figure out what I was doing wrong.

But I have bigger audio problems to tackle right now, so I can certainly "monitor" using Loopback.


desmond wrote:We can go on to troubleshoot this alternative way of using the system (monitoring through Audacity) but if you already have a config that is working, it's just a waste of time.

For now, yes it probably is.


desmond wrote:In this monitoring via Audacity case, the problem seems to be that really you always want to monitor back to your headset, which is a combined mic+headphones device, and one that you have *already captured* in Loopback - so you're outputting back to a device already captured by Loopback.

So, it seems wise to just monitor via Loopback, in the way you already have working.

Good point.

Thanks,


Audio Jungle
audio_jungle
Regular
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2018 9:20 pm

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby audio_jungle » Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:27 am

desmond wrote:So I tried again to more closely simulate your config there and observe the behaviour:-

Since your dedication and persistence with sound (and patience with me) impress me, I will try and mimic what you describe below maybe this weekend.

BTW, I hope to pick up a boom arm for my pro gear on Friday, and see if I can set up a semi-pro studio this weekend or when I get to it.


desmond wrote:Everything about this config is working fine, and should be for you too as it's essentially the same thing, unless you are doing something incorrect or have some settings affecting the behaviour that hasn't been mentioned, or the drivers of your headset mic thing are causing problems or something. Unfortunately I can't sit in front of your computer and see what you are doing, so it's impossible to guess.

I'll keep tinkering and try to mimic what you can do so easily.


desmond wrote:*In any case*, you have got to a set up that works for you, as far as I can see, by not monitoring from Audacity and intead using Loopback's monitoring, so as I say, stick to what works... :thumbup:

I agree.


desmond wrote:Things I have learnt from this exercise:

- Loopback is really great, and streamlines some otherwise complicated workflows. If/When I need it I'll get it for sure

- Audio Hijack is still great and covers much of the use case of Loopback for my needs. It's much simpler to use in this case as you can see the visual connections, see audio flowing along them, and has inbuilt recorder functionality so one app does the routing, hijacking, and recording, rather than passing things around between the system and other applications. The only thing Loopback can do that AH can't is pass audio to other applications (but I can do that with Soundflower if required.).

This is the exact same config as above, all done in one app:

The reason I haven't ran to Audio Hijack is I want to understand and master Loopback first.

But I am sure I will buy Audio Hijack soon enough and try to master it as well.


desmond wrote:- I still feel the same way about Audacity as I did when I started. :headbang:

And when the time is right, I will be back here in the SOS forums to learn about switching from Audacity to a true DAW, but one step at a time!

THANK YOU, Desmond, for all of your help so far!!! :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Sincerely,


Audio Jungle
audio_jungle
Regular
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2018 9:20 pm

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby lojeda » Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:42 am

Hi

I've just created an account to see if you guys can help me.

I've read the whole thread and nothing is working for me to capture sound from FireFox (Youtube) and record it on audacity while still listening it.

My settings are as follows

mac output: headphones/internal speakers

loopback: virtual device called "Firefox" with Firefox added as an audio source.
Both, mute audiosources and monitor audio through are unchecked

Audacity: Recording device: Firefox. Playback device: Built in output

I hit the record button and nothing but a flat line. I've made sure nothing was muted, still no luck.

This only happens with Firefox, I have another virtual device with Spotify, same settings and it works like a charm.

The only way it works (which I see it should not be used) is by setting my mac to output to the virtual device "Firefox" If I do this it starts receiving the audio but obviously I can't monitor it even after checking the box "monitor audio through" and select my headphones/speakers.

I'm kind of lost, I don't know any more if I'm missing something, I've tried a lot of combinations with no luck. Any help would be really appreciated.
lojeda
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:25 am

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby desmond » Mon Jan 14, 2019 1:11 am

Is this with Loopback 1 or Loopback 2?

(Loopback has been updated since this thread, the new version has a much more visual flow diagram which should help people visualize the audio flow more easily...)

Edit: Just tried it here, Loopback 2, Audacity, latest Firefox, it works fine for me - set Firefox playing YouTube, created a Loopback device with Firefox as a source, and selected that Firefox loopback device as input into Audacity, turned input monitoring on in Audacity, and it gets audio levels without any problems...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8782
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby lojeda » Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:44 am

Thanks for the quick replay Desmond.

Is this with Loopback 1 or Loopback 2?

Is Loopback 1 (am I screwed?)

I'm attaching some captures of my settings.

System:
Image

Loopback:
Image

Audacity interface:
Image

Audacity Prefs:
Image
lojeda
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:25 am

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby desmond » Mon Jan 14, 2019 11:08 am

Does it work if you use Safari or Chrome?
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8782
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby desmond » Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:19 pm

lojeda wrote:Is Loopback 1 (am I screwed?)

I tried with Loopback 1, and it works here exactly as expected, no problems.

What versions of OSX, Firefox, Loopback and Audacity are you using?
Does Safari and Chrome get audio passed into Audacity as expected, just FF doesn't?
Does FF pass audio into some other audio application (not Audacity)?
Does the demo of Loopback 2 work for you, or behave the same?

Trying to rule out where the problem you are having is occurring.
Try all these, and let me know the specific answers to each...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8782
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby Sam Spoons » Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:20 pm

Or use a Youtube to mp3 converter if it's just YouTube stuff you want? https://www.onlinevideoconverter.com/mp3-converter
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9904
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby ef37a » Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:41 pm

PheeEEuuw!

I have been recording anything that I can hear out of this 6/7yr old HP i3 laptop for years.

"Stereo Mix" and into Samplitude SE8 but I am pretty sure I have done it with Audacity and AA1.5. Mainly radios 3 and 4 but the odd YT grab as well.

I USED to be able to do it with a 2496 card (Mon Mix) in a desktop but post a trial of W10 and a revert back to W7, the old M-A control panel has gone and MMix with it. Still, the card comes up to TRS in a breakout box so I just patch across.

I understand this easy/pc solution has been removed in W10? Maybe OP should look for a cheap,sh HP with W7?

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10511
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby desmond » Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:53 pm

As I have mentioned many times, including on this thread, the best, easiest, slickest no-hassle solution for recording audio from apps on the Mac is Audio Hijack.

Loopbacking to Audacity is using two different apps, where Audio Hijack has the hijacking and recording (and inserting plugins if you want) all built in.

Loopback is really designed for people with complex internal routing needs (like recording podcasts from multiple sources and apps to multiple individual and mixed recordings) and it's overkill for just recording an app. It's also a lot more expensive than Audio Hijack, simply because it's target audience is much more niche.

I recommend, and continue to recommend Audio Hijack on the Mac for app recording, or app audio processing, and it's way better than any other solution I've seen on any platform. No wiring, no creating virtual audio devices, no changing preferences to route things across virtual audio devices - just a simple preset for "Grab Firefox" -> "Record to WAV (etc)" and hit go... It's a beautiful application...

But I don't think lojeda was looking for alternative ways of doing this (or moving computer platform!), he was trying to troubleshoot why his system, that should be working, doesn't seem to be...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8782
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby lojeda » Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:24 pm

desmond » Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:08 am
Does it work if you use Safari or Chrome?

Well I'll be damned.Thank you!
It works with Chrome but not with Safari (Version 12.0.2 (13606.3.4.1.4)) or FireFox (64.0.2 (64-bit)). This could be a workaround for my problem. I feel dumb for not trying it before.

I'm on macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 (17G4015) which is the latest Version I can use since my macbook is an early 2011 model.

Does the demo of Loopback 2 work for you, or behave the same?

I haven't tried Loopback 2

Sam Spoons » Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:20 am
Or use a Youtube to mp3 converter if it's just YouTube stuff you want? https://www.onlinevideoconverter.com/mp3-converter

It's not YouTube what I'm trying to capture, is a variety of web streams.

As I have mentioned many times, including on this thread, the best, easiest, slickest no-hassle solution for recording audio from apps on the Mac is Audio Hijack.

I didn't know about this app, I stumble with Loopback browsing for a solution a year ago for a specific scenario I had and it worked fine (and yeah, I shoulda done more research) I just wanted to continue using it since I've already paid the license.

But I don't think lojeda was looking for alternative ways of doing this (or moving computer platform!), he was trying to troubleshoot why his system, that should be working, doesn't seem to be...

Exactly this. I'm less stressed now that I found a workaround based on your suggestions.
lojeda
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:25 am

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby desmond » Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:56 pm

lojeda wrote:It works with Chrome but not with Safari (Version 12.0.2 (13606.3.4.1.4)) or FireFox (64.0.2 (64-bit)).

That's very strange - audio capture from Safari at least should be well-tested and flawless (and has always worked fine for me). It might be worth giving Rogue Amoeba tech support a message and see what they say.

lojeda wrote:
Does the demo of Loopback 2 work for you, or behave the same?

I haven't tried Loopback 2

DL it from their website and give it a try. I would expect the behaviour on your system to be the same as v1.x, but it would be curious if that works, but v1.x doesn't (and more info for the tech support message.)

lojeda wrote:I'm less stressed now that I found a workaround based on your suggestions.

It's up to you whether the workaround is good enough, but I'd suggest you might want to try and get this sorted, as audio capture from web browsers is a great feature that should be bullet proof... and works here (on Sierra and all versions of OSX going back to Audio Hijack Pro 1.x).
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8782
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby ef37a » Tue Jan 15, 2019 1:45 am

Not suggesting the OP should jump OS's Des' just a lighthearted suggestion that perhaps he should buy a cheap, low grade W7 laptop, set it up as I have mine, stick it in the corner doing its thang while he gets on with more interesting stuff?

Or are there "Apple police"?

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10511
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby ConcertinaChap » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:48 am

There are, Dave, and if I were you I'd be moving to a new address and changing my identity round about now.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7382
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
A small fish in a small pond.

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby ef37a » Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:05 am

ConcertinaChap wrote:There are, Dave, and if I were you I'd be moving to a new address and changing my identity round about now.

CC
Oh I'm ok, never so much as TOUCHED a mac and I keep all Apple software off my machines.

Years ago #1 son installed iTunes and when I took it off I found the DVD player would no longer work!

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10511
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Loopback: Recording Radio Shows

Postby ConcertinaChap » Tue Jan 15, 2019 12:42 pm

Well, if ever you do touch a Mac, beware!

Image
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7382
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
A small fish in a small pond.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users