You are here

Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby MarkPAman » Tue Nov 20, 2018 2:57 pm

Fare enough Dave.

I see quite a lot of X32 + box in one combination or another, getting run without a UPS & I'd not really head any reports of problems to make me think it a serious issue, but maybe it is. UK mains is usually very stable!
User avatar
MarkPAman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 924
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Somewhere between Portsmouth & Chichester

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:04 pm

Tolerance of mains voltage variation is generally much worse on devices with linear power supplies than those with switching mode supplies. The latter are often able to cope with any mains supply from 100-250VAC, whereas a linear supply set for 230VAC may well drop out below 207 if not higher!

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 27609
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Sam Spoons » Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:24 pm

Good point Hugh, the X32 PSU can accept 100-240 VAC so brownouts sufficient to cause problems in Europe should simply never happen short of a full on power cut.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12782
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby The Elf » Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:00 pm

Dave B wrote:Mark, it's less to do with 'digital', more to do with the manufacturer skimping on the design. As I understand it, the Midas equivalent doesn't seem to have the same sort of issues. I'll leave you to draw your own conclusions.
Got to be honest. I didn't know that there *was* a Midas equivalent - never occurred to me. I'm happy to take a look if they're compatible with the X32?

Edit: No 8 channel version and no jack inputs. The idea was to avoid the phantom power problem.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14545
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Sam Spoons » Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:55 pm

FWIW (according to 'Musicgroup' of course) the only differences between the Midas and Berry X/M32s are the faders and mic preamps.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12782
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby James Perrett » Tue Nov 20, 2018 9:21 pm

Sam Spoons wrote:Good point Hugh, the X32 PSU can accept 100-240 VAC so brownouts sufficient to cause problems in Europe should simply never happen short of a full on power cut.

It isn't always that simple. Some of these power supplies detect the input voltage when first switched on and go into either 230V mode or 120V mode. As I understand it, they can't switch mode after that initial decision has been made so if the voltage later goes too low for the 230V mode you are in trouble.

It is also possible that different batches of the same model could react in different ways.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 9360
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Sam Spoons » Wed Nov 21, 2018 12:59 am

Ah, didn't know that. Mackie refer to their DL 1608 PSU (which is a 'line rat') as a 'world PSU' and I had thought it, and the X32 supply, simply took whatever mains voltage and supplied whatever the device needed.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12782
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby James Perrett » Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:36 am

Just had a quick look at the range of worldwide supply voltages and it appears that every country that I could find either lies in the range of 110-127V or 220-240V so a worldwide supply only has to cover those voltage ranges to be worthy of the name.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 9360
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby AlecSp » Thu Nov 22, 2018 11:41 am

Sam Spoons wrote:FWIW (according to 'Musicgroup' of course) the only differences between the Midas and Berry X/M32s are the faders and mic preamps.
Along with the build quality, the warranty, the layout and (for some) the rider-acceptability...
AlecSp
Regular
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 1:00 am

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Sam Spoons » Thu Nov 22, 2018 11:53 am

Build quality? Aren't they made in the same factory? Only quoting what Music Group said when they introduced the M32.

The layout is different TBF and that 10 year warrantee is very good (but only fair given the premium price relative to the X32) plus they run 192kHz but that's only firmware I believe.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12782
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:47 pm

Sam Spoons wrote:Build quality? Aren't they made in the same factory? Only quoting what Music Group said when they introduced the M32.

I haven't looked into the internal differences in any detail, but they could be built in the same factory but use different quality parts -- especially for things like faders, encoders, displays etc.

...plus they run 192kHz but that's only firmware I believe.

Again, it might be firmware... but it could also be that the less expensive model uses lower cost converters and DSP chips that don't have the speed to operate at 192.

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 27609
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Sam Spoons » Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:37 pm

My understanding when the M32 was introduced was that the only hardware differences between the X32 and M32 we're the aforementioned mic preamps and motor faders. Clearly the casework is also different but other than that........ I have asked the question on the MG X32 forum.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12782
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Studio Support Gnome » Mon Nov 26, 2018 1:10 am

I work on M32 and X32 , My former studio now uses an M32 which doubles as live hire stock, and my semi regular venue has X32 ....


the software is identical in architecture, meaning you can successfully run X32 shows from M32 software on laptop, which is a bonus as it's lots nicer....

I would take the Midas over the X32 any day, of any week ever, it sounds better, it is faster to operate, and based on recent experience, more stable ,

as far as I am aware they share the core DSP architecture, but the converters are different, (thus the sample rate option differences) the pre-amps are different , and the physical layout and control surface feel are very different....

I can drive either, with equal competence....


but i'd rather have a Digico if I MUST have digital desk

other than that
give me an, Audient, or a Neve and I'm a happy man

not picky or anything.....


Santa are you reading this ??
User avatar
Studio Support Gnome
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2913
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2003 12:00 am
Location: UK
Now available for consultations and audio engineering jobs .  Also guitar tech work , and “rent-a-shredder” sessions .  Oxfordshire based but can and will travel .  Email maxtech.audio@me.com

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Dave B » Mon Nov 26, 2018 9:45 am

I spoke to Santa. He says he will consider giving you an Audient or Neve when you no longer own any DDAs. And dumping them in a mate's garage and telling yourself that they don't exist doesn't count!!

:D
User avatar
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5505
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Maidenhead
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi (I came, I saw, I conkered)

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby DGL. » Tue Nov 27, 2018 9:53 am

An M32 is an X32 with, PRO faders, PRO series mic pre-amps, better quality input/output stages (inc. AD/DA conversion), better screen (daylight viewable iirc, not higher res) and a nicer 'body'.

Still runs (with the current firmware) at a maximum of 48kHz.
DGL.
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1106
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Portland, Dorset

PreviousNext