You are here

New Mixpre-3 Need help!

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby ConcertinaChap » Mon Dec 10, 2018 11:09 pm

Sorry, maybe I'm being thick here but what has this to do with Wave Agent?

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6812
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby wireman » Mon Dec 10, 2018 11:31 pm

ConcertinaChap wrote:It's a bit more complicated than that but we sorted it for Ariosto upthread a bit.

wireman wrote:If you installed the version that can control a 788T then I'm not surprised by this.

Why?

CC

Because software that needs to recognise or communicate with a device would operate at a lower level. I don't know if a reboot is needed but like I said I would not be surprised if it was.
wireman
Regular
Posts: 248
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 1:00 am

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Sam Spoons » Mon Dec 10, 2018 11:50 pm

Not sure of the need to communicate with the Mixpre-3, Wave Agent only needs to be able to take an existing, standard, multi-wav file (or WHY) and convert it into separate .wavs?

Usually Mac programmes run in their own space separate from the OS kernel too.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8963
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Kwackman » Mon Dec 10, 2018 11:59 pm

ConcertinaChap wrote:Sorry, maybe I'm being thick here but what has this to do with Wave Agent?

CC
Nothing, but is has something to do with the Mixpre-3 which is where this thread started.
As mentioned, it isn't exactly on topic, but the OP might find it useful.
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1247
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby ConcertinaChap » Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:24 am

Ah, no wonder I got confused. Others were talking about Wave Agent, I passed on my puzzlement about the required reboot and you responded with something which in that context was a non sequitur but which you were relating back to the OP.

Still puzzled and uncertain about the reboot, though.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6812
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby ConcertinaChap » Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:52 pm

Hello Chris,

Thank you for contacting Sound Devices. Whenever system files, hooks, etc. need to be modified, a restart is required simply because they're in use while the system is up. The program has been out for years and is quite safe. However, if you are still uncomfortable installing the software, please do not proceed.

Which tells me nothing at all I don't already know. Ho hum.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6812
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Previous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kwackman, TNGator