You are here

Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Customising, building or repairing your own gear? Need help with acoustic treatment or soundproofing? Ask away…

Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Postby BillB » Fri Dec 28, 2018 1:47 pm

My MS6, referred to here
https://www.soundonsound.com/forum/view ... it=Cheetah
has finally given up the ghost.

After several instances of popping its fuse (and tripping the mains circuit breaker) I pulled it out of the rack and have been waiting for a chance to look at it. Opened it up today, popped in a higher value fuse than previously (500mA rather than 200mA) and it didn’t pop anything, but it didn’t power up either.

I’m not inclined to troubleshoot the power supply because a) the PSU (not least the transformers) is well known as the weak spot of these synths and b) someone has modified it in the past and c) it would be pretty awkward to get at all the parts/contacts whilst keeping the unit in a state suitable for sound testing.

Based on this https://www.2btech.co.uk/refimages/ms6_power_184.pdf (obtained from somewhere on the inter-webs in the past) the MS6 requires +/- 5v and +/- 12v. Ignore the 12v AC overlay, that is not my intention. There are no official schematics, so everything for a Cheetah found on the web has to be treated with some caution. But in principle this corresponds with the 7805/7905 7812/7912 regulators in the MS6.

Based on this, and fact that I saw an example of someone doing a similar thing on the web (somewhere), I am wondering if there is a single supply available, ideally in a laptop PSU type format, with a 5 pin connector delivering 0v +/- 5v and +/- 12v. If so, it would probably be best to desolder all of the PSU components and run the external PSU (via connector) to the power lines on the main PCB.

So, any thoughts on the approach and any suggestions for a PSU? Google hasn’t helped me yet..., or at least, I haven’t turned up anything which delivers all four voltages (-5v being the problem).

Many thanks

Bill
BillB
Frequent Poster
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 12:00 am
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Postby Sam Spoons » Fri Dec 28, 2018 2:06 pm

I haven't seen a laptop with multiple voltages from the PSU for donkey's years, they all have had a single DC supply presumably with the 3.3V/5V/12V DC stepped down internally from the 15-20VDC typically supplied by the line rat.

Would a desktop PSU in a suitable box be an option?
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12709
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Postby BillB » Fri Dec 28, 2018 2:18 pm

Hi Sam

I meant laptop format (neat box on a mains leads) rather than an actual laptop supply, which I agree normally just supply a single voltage. So something like the example here
https://www.matrixsynth.com/2013/03/che ... -with.html
- although this looks home-made and might only be bypassing the transformers, not the regulators.

Desktop supply in a box might be OK, but again, don’t think I have seen one with -5v?

Thanks

Bill
BillB
Frequent Poster
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 12:00 am
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Postby Sam Spoons » Fri Dec 28, 2018 2:30 pm

Of course, didn't read your OP properly. Looks like a custom build might be your only option then. :(
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12709
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Postby BillB » Fri Dec 28, 2018 2:43 pm

In which case, the question may be - does anyone know of a kit or a design which would deliver said voltages?

All suggestions welcome.
BillB
Frequent Poster
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 12:00 am
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Postby Sam Spoons » Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:17 pm

Maybe drop an email to Jon at Orchid Electronics http://orchid-electronics.co.uk? He could certainly build you a custom job.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12709
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Postby garrettendi » Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:51 pm

Sam Spoons wrote:Maybe drop an email to Jon at Orchid Electronics http://orchid-electronics.co.uk? He could certainly build you a custom job.

I think we need a separate subforum for everything Orchid can do!

Hope you get it sorted OP!
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2089
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
"I mean, Led Zeppelin didn't write tunes that everyone liked. They left that to the Bee Gees"Wayne Campbell (Wayne's World)

Re: Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Postby Sam Spoons » Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:23 pm

I'm sure you know of this website http://www.maad.net/ms6/ The 'official' schematics are here http://www.maad.net/ms6/ and it looks as if the PSU schematic you posted came from those.

I has assumed the PSU was external BTW but, obviously, it isn't.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12709
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Postby Folderol » Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:30 pm

Buggrit :protest:
I did write out what was needed for a DIY jobbie, but Sam had sent in a post seconds earlier, and thinking I'd just got an acknowledgement I hit return.
Poof! all gone.
User avatar
Folderol
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10809
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:00 am
Location: The Mudway Towns, UK
Yes. I am that Linux nut.
Onwards and... err... sideways!

Re: Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Postby Sam Spoons » Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:32 pm

Sorry Foldy, that happens to me all the time... :blush:
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12709
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Postby BillB » Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:32 pm

Thanks, Garrettendi.

Sam, yes, well aware and I have the MAAD Rom upgrade fitted, so it is worth making an effort for the old MS6. I can solder, so a kit would be fine. The biggest issue as a DIY-er has always been the PCBs. I have made them in the past but they took a long while to draw, etch, clean and drill. As I now tend to value my time more highly than in the past, going to Orchid or similar may be a good option.

Buying something off the shelf would be even better, so any other suggestions welcome. It would appear to be a non-standard set of voltages, though.
BillB
Frequent Poster
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 12:00 am
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Postby BillB » Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:36 pm

Awww, Folderol!

It’s not all gone though... it’s still somewhere inside your head.

Cue sci-fi image of Folderol strapped into a chair with lots of electrodes strapped to his head.... Mmmwwwahh-ha-ha!

:ugeek:
BillB
Frequent Poster
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 12:00 am
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Postby BillB » Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:42 pm

Sam Spoons wrote:I has assumed the PSU was external BTW but, obviously, it isn't.

Sorry, should have said, for anyone not familiar with MS6 internals: everything, including PSU, and excepting front panel switches and display, is on a single circuit board. As the board nearly fills the inside of the rack, left to right and front to back, that’s what makes it a bit tricky to work on.
BillB
Frequent Poster
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 12:00 am
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Postby Sam Spoons » Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:48 pm

Yeah, found a low res pic of the inside on that site. It does look as if it should be fixable though to my fairly inexperienced eyes.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12709
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Replacement PSU for Cheetah MS6

Postby BillB » Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:12 pm

Here’s an old photo of the interior around the PSU, before I replaced the internal battery and Rom chip.

https://www.2btech.co.uk/refimages/MS6- ... -59-53.JPG

Two transformers, one for each +/-5/12v supply. I understand, from comments on the web, that the transformers are hard to come by. Given the mods around the regulators, including a flying resistor that doesn’t connect to anything else, I would prefer to bypass the lot.
BillB
Frequent Poster
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 12:00 am
Location: East Yorkshire

Next