You are here

Cubase changing monitor brightness

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Cubase changing monitor brightness

Postby pa28 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 12:22 am

Very annoying problem just started, When quitting Cubase Pro 8.5, the monitor (HP Pavilion 22Xi) switches to lowest brightness level despite factory reset, manually setting level to 77%, saving & closing.

Have also ticked graphics property's display to overide application settings.

So have no idea if a Cubase or monitor problem.
User avatar
pa28
Regular
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:00 am
Location: u.k. London
Capitalisation is the difference between helping your uncle jack off a horse  & helping your Uncle Jack off a horse.

Re: Cubase changing monitor brightness

Postby Wonks » Wed Mar 06, 2019 12:46 am

Never happened with my monitor and Cubase 8.5, ever since 8.5 came out so suspect it's a monitor issue or maybe a graphics card issue?

Removed and replugged the monitor cables? Also checked the power lead is in fully? Sometimes it works loose and when just making connection, the monitor can do funny things.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8626
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Cubase changing monitor brightness

Postby pa28 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:41 pm

Yep, done all the cable wiggling etc while on, and no probs, monitor behaves perfectly until quitting Cubase, then reverts to low/dark screen. :madas:

Have been through all Cubase preferences and nothing there seems to refer to monitor behaviour.
User avatar
pa28
Regular
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:00 am
Location: u.k. London
Capitalisation is the difference between helping your uncle jack off a horse  & helping your Uncle Jack off a horse.

Re: Cubase changing monitor brightness

Postby Wonks » Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:57 pm

Weird. I'm afraid I can only really head-scratch with you.

Will now go and turn Cubase on, off and on, in case it's something to do with a recent Windows update that does affect me (though I use two monitors so it may not behave the same way because of that).
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8626
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Cubase changing monitor brightness

Postby Wonks » Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:21 pm

No issue with my Cubase 8.5 and monitors.

May be something like a nearly-dead memory battery in the monitor.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8626
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users