You are here

Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Re: Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

Postby The Elf » Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:12 pm

blinddrew wrote:I like Dave's hybrid suggestion though. 3 or 4 different power units that all comply to a set of standards and come in standard size boxes. Bolt on the back / bottom as final stage of manufacturing.
It can be even simpler - a standard 110-240V IEC connector!

Are you guys all so commonly experiencing power supply failures that they need to be always on the outside? The last PSU failure I had was about 5 years ago - and that was on an *external* PSU for a Novation Drumstation!
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15300
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

Postby ef37a » Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:40 pm

The Elf wrote:
blinddrew wrote:I like Dave's hybrid suggestion though. 3 or 4 different power units that all comply to a set of standards and come in standard size boxes. Bolt on the back / bottom as final stage of manufacturing.
It can be even simpler - a standard 110-240V IEC connector!

Are you guys all so commonly experiencing power supply failures that they need to be always on the outside? The last PSU failure I had was about 5 years ago - and that was on an *external* PSU for a Novation Drumstation!

That is the whole point of the thread Elf. Internal mains supplies give problems with production lines. As I said, it is cheaper to make the whole thing run on 12 volts or so and buy in a PSU from another manfctr. Yes, SMPSUs ARE very reliable but only because the people that make them have had vast experience* doing it. For a relatively small company to design one in house is a major PITA.

The company can also be sure that the dangerous bit meets all the safety regulations around the world. In short, they hand the problem over to somebody else!

*I "grew up" with the gestation of switch mode supplies. First in tellies then in VCRs and let me tell you they were unreliable ****! And to add insult to injury, bloody hard to repair. They also did not like thunderstorms!

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12265
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

Postby BigRedX » Thu Jun 06, 2019 2:21 pm

Rich Hanson wrote:Many years back, we were setting up for a gig, I had an SY22 at the time which had an external PSU. Some klutz(*) stood on the low voltage cable, ripping the wire out of the plug into the synth. On that occasion we were lucky that the landlord had a universal supply that we could use.

(*) i.e. me

The low-voltage side of most external PSUs is appalling and they are supplied with all sorts of cludges to make the standard non-latching plug not be a liability on stage.

Both guitarists in my band, have in the last 6 months, had external PSU failures for their multi-effects pedals; one at the device end where the wrap to stop the lead being pulled out caused the cable to wear out, and the other at the PSU end.

Even if you fit these PSUs inside a rack case or on a pedal board, it's yet another thing that has to be secured into place, and I have yet to see one that makes this easy or reliable. I won't look at any equipment for live use that requires a external PSU unless it is indispensable and there is no alternative.
User avatar
BigRedX
Frequent Poster
Posts: 882
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:00 am
RockinRollin' VampireMan

Re: Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

Postby The Elf » Thu Jun 06, 2019 3:59 pm

BigRedX wrote:I won't look at any equipment for live use that requires a external PSU unless it is indispensable and there is no alternative.
Yep, that's pretty much my approach. Other than laptops (for which I have at least two PSUs with me at all times) I now have *nothing* on stage with me that requires an external PSU - and that's how it's going to stay.

I'm prepared to make exceptional compromises in the studio, but it would have to be a heck of a goodie. I'm sick of having to find plugboard space for the wide/tall warts that prevent use of adjacent sockets, and find space for the line lumps with their 'just too short' cables.

But, as I said, while ever we roll over and take it - and even make their excuses for them - then manufacturers will continue to take the easy/cheap way out and leave us to make the best of it.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15300
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

Postby Folderol » Thu Jun 06, 2019 5:43 pm

I've used these for all sorts of things. Small, cheap (even from RS) and all compliance issues taken care of. All it takes is some enterprising company to stick this on an angle plate prewired with a couple of output tails and a fused IEC chassis plug.

If all the PC makers (except Apple) have been able to agree a standard PSU for years why can't the synth makers? Indeed, for the larger synths, they probably could use a PC PSU
User avatar
Folderol
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11657
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:00 am
Location: The Mudway Towns, UK
Yes. I am that Linux nut.
Onwards and... err... sideways!

Re: Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

Postby ef37a » Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:35 pm

The Elf wrote:
BigRedX wrote:I won't look at any equipment for live use that requires a external PSU unless it is indispensable and there is no alternative.
Yep, that's pretty much my approach. Other than laptops (for which I have at least two PSUs with me at all times) I now have *nothing* on stage with me that requires an external PSU - and that's how it's going to stay.

I'm prepared to make exceptional compromises in the studio, but it would have to be a heck of a goodie. I'm sick of having to find plugboard space for the wide/tall warts that prevent use of adjacent sockets, and find space for the line lumps with their 'just too short' cables.

But, as I said, while ever we roll over and take it - and even make their excuses for them - then manufacturers will continue to take the easy/cheap way out and leave us to make the best of it.

I feel your pain Elf I really do! But manfctrs follow the public and the public WANTS cheap!

Now, if I was roadie'ing/techy'ing for a band (coz I can't play for **** now) and they had a gaggle of DC lumps I would put them all in case of some kind and tie all the mains cables to a common feed (they all draw bugger all) Then splice in some robust wire for the DC outs, carefully labelled for what goes where. Guitar pedals would run on rechargeable battery packs, no hum loops or twitterings!
Pickup from the Merc Sprinter, plonk on stage, find ONE 13A outlet, feed DC to kit. I am sure I could come up with some way to secure the cables to the synths? Solving **** like that was what I did for a living for ten years. Then a bit like that for 3 years at B's!

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12265
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

Postby Exalted Wombat » Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:41 pm

Equipment that uses mains voltages requires safety certification for the territory it's sold in. Equipment than runs on 12 volts doesn't.

Rather than certifing 20 different models in each one of the territories, it makes sense to certify ONE external power supply for each territory. Or to buy it in from a specialist supplier.

And that's why we're going to continue to see wall-warts and power bricks.
Exalted Wombat
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5733
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 1:00 am
Location: London UK
You don't have to write songs. The world doesn't want you to write songs. It would probably prefer it if you didn't. So write songs if you want to. Otherwise, dont bore us with beefing about it. Go fishing instead.

Re: Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

Postby The Elf » Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:52 pm

Exalted Wombat wrote:Equipment that uses mains voltages requires safety certification for the territory it's sold in. Equipment than runs on 12 volts doesn't.

Rather than certifing 20 different models in each one of the territories, it makes sense to certify ONE external power supply for each territory. Or to buy it in from a specialist supplier.

And that's why we're going to continue to see wall-warts and power bricks.
Then why does so much gear (much of it inexpensive) have internal PSUs?
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15300
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

Postby ef37a » Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:31 pm

The Elf wrote:
Exalted Wombat wrote:Equipment that uses mains voltages requires safety certification for the territory it's sold in. Equipment than runs on 12 volts doesn't.

Rather than certifing 20 different models in each one of the territories, it makes sense to certify ONE external power supply for each territory. Or to buy it in from a specialist supplier.

And that's why we're going to continue to see wall-warts and power bricks.
Then why does so much gear (much of it inexpensive) have internal PSUs?

Who knows Ee! The world of the equipment designer is a weird one.
Often they will be given a design brief (by people who don't actually USE your particular bit of kit!) telling them. "You must use THIS loudspeaker drive unit" (coz the buyer, who is the MDs nephew cocked up and ordered 10,000 crap ones) or, "the case can be THIS long, wide deep, no more. Or.."We can't afford to build another production line for this product so it will go on the one with the 12 yr olds on it. Best no mains voltages".

Ok so that last one was a bit naughty but believe me! The reason things get made the way they do and why rarely follows a linear path and often has little logic to it.

As Mr Jagger had it? YCAGWYW...but you can try!

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12265
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

Postby Folderol » Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:33 pm

Exalted Wombat wrote:Equipment that uses mains voltages requires safety certification for the territory it's sold in. Equipment than runs on 12 volts doesn't.

Rather than certifing 20 different models in each one of the territories, it makes sense to certify ONE external power supply for each territory. Or to buy it in from a specialist supplier.

And that's why we're going to continue to see wall-warts and power bricks.
Not the whole story.
If all the different bits of kit use a single unmodified, fully enclosed PSU module (and only that module has any high voltage parts), then only that module needs to be certified.
A company I worked for some years ago was in this situation, and the MD, rather than contacting certification companies (with a vested interest), instead talked to insurance companies.
User avatar
Folderol
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11657
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:00 am
Location: The Mudway Towns, UK
Yes. I am that Linux nut.
Onwards and... err... sideways!

Re: Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

Postby ef37a » Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:37 pm

An another thing!!
I have been banging a drum for AGES about the loss of MIDI ports on AIs. OT? you'd think but, bear with...

Much the same arguments re internal supplies i.e. cost, space. And yet some very low cost, sub £100 AIs have had DINs and some pretty expensive ones not. Again, little rhyme or reason.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12265
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

Postby James Perrett » Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:02 pm

Folderol wrote:I've used these for all sorts of things. Small, cheap (even from RS) and all compliance issues taken care of. All it takes is some enterprising company to stick this on an angle plate prewired with a couple of output tails and a fused IEC chassis plug.

I would have thought that something like the one at

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/embedded ... s/1812202/

would be more appropriate with all the high voltage parts encapsulated (though you'd still need a fused IEC inlet). Only a fiver plus the cost of the IEC connector and probably far cheaper than that from a distributor set up to deal in higher quantities.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 9919
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

Postby The Elf » Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:42 pm

James Perrett wrote:I would have thought that something like the one at
https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/embedded ... s/1812202/
...
Which constituency are you standing for? I'll vote for you! :clap: :thumbup:

You guys are great! :bouncy:
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15300
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

Postby ef37a » Fri Jun 07, 2019 12:36 am

James Perrett wrote:
Folderol wrote:I've used these for all sorts of things. Small, cheap (even from RS) and all compliance issues taken care of. All it takes is some enterprising company to stick this on an angle plate prewired with a couple of output tails and a fused IEC chassis plug.

I would have thought that something like the one at

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/embedded ... s/1812202/

would be more appropriate with all the high voltage parts encapsulated (though you'd still need a fused IEC inlet). Only a fiver plus the cost of the IEC connector and probably far cheaper than that from a distributor set up to deal in higher quantities.

Yes, all very nice but you still have mains volts coming into the equipment and that is where the regulations and handling problems lie.
You need the PSU totally insulated with just IEC one end and DC the other and not part of the case or chassis. Like my ex printer, almost.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12265
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Internal PSU - so space isn't the issue...

Postby johnny h » Wed Jun 12, 2019 3:22 pm

In my discussions with gear manufacturers, its a lot simpler to gets certification around the world when using external PSUs. Also its very easy to change an external power supply at a late stage, or even in later revisions (like with the Waldorf 4-Pole moving from 9v to 12v when part shortages necessitated different filter chips).
johnny h
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4048
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 12:00 am

PreviousNext