You are here

outputting 8+ channel with Roland Octa-capture

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

outputting 8+ channel with Roland Octa-capture

Postby craig coombes » Wed Jun 05, 2019 12:11 pm

Total newb.
Essentially im left with a set up for an art installation that a predecessor put together and i'm clueless as to how to make it work. I'm not a sound technician and have no one left to ask!
I need to be able to set this up again in the near future and have hit a snag upon testing.

There's a mac mini outputting a 9 channel wav.
midi into previously set up Octa-capture (via roland software etc).
All 8 standard jack outputs working fine.
9th channel i think would output out of the '9/10 out' digital co-ax or RCA?
I've got this going through a new DAC into a Genelec sub and with no response.

Sub tested with other channel- fine.
DAC tested- fine.
I can see the channel 9 outputting on EQ.

Can anyone please tell me where i'm going wrong? Offer alternative set up option for 9 channels with Octacapture?

Please / thank you
craig coombes
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 12:00 pm

Re: outputting 8+ channel with Roland Octa-capture

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:45 am

Welcome to the SOS forums!

I'm afraid I can't help with your specific problem, but I'm sure others here can -- and to make that easier I've moved your post to the Live Sound forum which would seem the most relevant.

The Support forum where you posted originally is intended for reporting bugs & errors affecting the SOS forums and SOS web site.
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 24388
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: outputting 8+ channel with Roland Octa-capture

Postby craig coombes » Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:50 am

Hey all

Thanks Hugh.

The answer to this was so simple it's embarrassing. As i knew it would be.
Updated the mac. Done.

I don't know what sort of update would have made this start working again but it did.
Nice one macintosh for making things stop working just so you can force people into updates.

Leaving this up so anyone else encountering this problem doesn't spank loads of time away checking settings, swapping out leads etc.
craig coombes
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 12:00 pm

Re: outputting 8+ channel with Roland Octa-capture

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:55 am

Odd! Presumably a driver issue of some sort... Thanks for the update though. There are times I'm glad I'm not a Mac user! :D
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 24388
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users