You are here

Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

Postby desmond » Thu Jun 13, 2019 6:25 pm

As expected, a new Logic version that likely matches the specs Apple demoed and posted at WWDC (eg, an increase in the maximum number of supported tracks per object type from 256 to 1000).

In the app store now.

Release notes to follow...

https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2019/06/ ... w-mac-pro/

Improved Performance

Improves responsiveness of the Mixer and Event List when working with large sessions
Projects with numerous Flex Time edits and tempo changes perform more efficiently
Optimizes performance for Mac Pro including support for up to 56 processing threads
This update also contains additional stability and performance improvements
Increased Number of Tracks and Channels, up to:

1000 stereo audio channel strips
1000 software instrument channel strips
1000 auxiliary channel strips
1000 external MIDI tracks
12 sends per channel strip

New Features

The Loop Browser can filter by loop type and allows drag and drop of multiple loops into your project simultaneously
Redesigned DeEsser 2 plug-in provides more options to reduce sibilance on audio tracks
Send MIDI beat clock to individual ports, each with unique settings like timing offset and plug-in delay compensation

Requires High Sierra.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9807
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

Postby desmond » Thu Jun 13, 2019 7:20 pm

Release notes:

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203718

*Many* performance improvements, they weren't joking about focusing the release on performance...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9807
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

Postby Kevin Nolan » Thu Jun 13, 2019 9:46 pm

Is that 1000 of each kind simultaneously - or 1000 in total?
Kevin Nolan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 814
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 1:00 am

Re: Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

Postby desmond » Thu Jun 13, 2019 10:01 pm

Kevin Nolan wrote:Is that 1000 of each kind simultaneously - or 1000 in total?

1000 of each audio object type (previously 256).

So you can have projects with 1000 audio tracks *and* 1000 instrument tracks *and* 1000 MIDI tracks etc.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9807
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

Postby Kevin Nolan » Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:44 am

That's very impressive!
Kevin Nolan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 814
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 1:00 am

Re: Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

Postby rzzz » Fri Jun 14, 2019 4:08 am

LPX 10.4.5 features that are much more useful to those of us without 2019 Mac Pros:

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/logic- ... everything

rz
rzzz
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 9:02 pm

Re: Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

Postby Dave B » Fri Jun 14, 2019 10:03 am

Looks interesting.

Slight thread hijack here, but I do a fair amount of work where you zoom right in on a track (for lining up against others, working out good edit points) and use the slider for horizontal zoom. Once it gets right down to a fine level, it invariably decides to scroll the view past the cursor, so I then have to re-find it to carry on. PITA frankly. Is there some way to lock the window so that the zoom expands in equal measures from the cursor?
User avatar
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5501
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Maidenhead
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi (I came, I saw, I conkered)

Re: Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

Postby desmond » Fri Jun 14, 2019 11:25 am

Dave B wrote:Slight thread hijack here, but I do a fair amount of work where you zoom right in on a track (for lining up against others, working out good edit points) and use the slider for horizontal zoom. Once it gets right down to a fine level, it invariably decides to scroll the view past the cursor, so I then have to re-find it to carry on. PITA frankly. Is there some way to lock the window so that the zoom expands in equal measures from the cursor?

I just tried what you describe here, and by default, when not playing, the horizontal slider zooms centered in on the playhead - ie, as I change the horizontal zoom, the playhead stays where it is on screen, and the content zooms in/out centered on that, which is I think the behaviour that you're asking for, unless I'm not clear on what you're trying to do...

Image
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9807
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

Postby Dave B » Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:15 pm

That's exactly it Desmond - but mine doesn't do that. I was in the middle of spring cleaning / defumigating chez moi, but I'll have to take a break shortly and have a try....

(In other, totally unrelated news, vacuum cleaners work so much better when you empty them and clean out all the filters...who'da thunk?)

:D
User avatar
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5501
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Maidenhead
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi (I came, I saw, I conkered)

Re: Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

Postby MOF » Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:36 pm

mine doesn't do that.
I think you need to change the playhead position preferences, see https://support.apple.com/kb/PH24710?lo ... cale=en_US
MOF
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1022
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 1:00 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

Postby desmond » Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:45 pm

MOF wrote:I think you need to change the playhead position preferences, see https://support.apple.com/kb/PH24710?lo ... cale=en_US

I don't see why the various catch mode options would have any affect on this.
Those modes just determine how the playhead moves on playback.

For me, Logic always horizontally zooms on the playhead if it's in the visible window. If the playhead is outside the visible area (ie, further on in the song outside the current window view), then Logic doesn't scroll around the playhead - if there is a region selected, it will zoom around that, and if nothing is selected, it will just zoom from the start of the song.

Actually, the horizontal slider zoom will favour selected regions over the playhead position, by the looks - also the same with command+alt+2-finger up/down.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9807
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

Postby Dave B » Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:46 pm

Cheers MOF - will look into that. I can make it work both ways in Logic 10.4.4 so I'll dig a little deeper.

BUT .... I've just noticed that my current system is only running Sierra (nice and stable so I didn't change it) and Logic 10.4.5 needs a minimum of MacOS 10.13.6 apparently. So I now face the dilemma of 'do I go to straight to Mojave? or do I try and persuade it to find High Sierra and just go to that?'

I'm backing up now and am tempted to go straight to 10.14 ... it _should_ be stable now ... he says clenching ... As long as Apple don't scupper the Firewire ports, I'm sure my system should be fine..
User avatar
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5501
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Maidenhead
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi (I came, I saw, I conkered)

Re: Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

Postby desmond » Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:49 pm

Dave B wrote:BUT .... I've just noticed that my current system is only running Sierra (nice and stable so I didn't change it) and Logic 10.4.5 needs a minimum of MacOS 10.13.6 apparently. So I now face the dilemma of 'do I go to straight to Mojave? or do I try and persuade it to find High Sierra and just go to that?'

Will your 2010 machine run Mojave? I think you need a Metal-capable GFX card to run Mojave...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9807
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

Postby Dave B » Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:51 pm

My studio machine is a Mini - 2012/13 iirc.. I'm fairly sure it's the same vintage as this Mini I'm typing on and that's on Mojave. I've just realised that this has FW and I have a spare interface, so might to a quick FW / audio test on this to see what's what.
User avatar
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5501
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Maidenhead
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi (I came, I saw, I conkered)

Re: Logic Pro X 10.4.5 update released

Postby desmond » Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:56 pm

Ok, that should be fine for the Mo'...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9807
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Next