You are here

Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Re: Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

Postby blinddrew » Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:30 pm

Most people, i guess, run their monitors directly from the output of the interface rather than going back into the computer. Either running active monitors or using an amplifier and passive speakers.
That way everything routes through the interface, inputs, daw outputs, and any other sound sources from the PC.
Being old fashioned i have my CD player and minidisc feeding into the interface as well.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12044
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

Postby The Elf » Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:06 pm

It's as the guys above say - most audio-centric users connect everything to their audio interface, including their speakers and headphones. This then presents a single ASIO interface to the audio software.

Having a USB connection to your monitors really isn't the done thing, I'm afraid, and will inevitably lead to the kind of issues you're experiencing.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15300
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

Postby James Perrett » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:59 am

If you are using the Alesis M1 Active USB monitors then simply disconnect the USB cable and the plug in the main monitor outputs of your Focusrite into the jack inputs on the back of the speaker. Choose the Focusrite ASIO driver and make sure that all the inputs and outputs are enabled in Reaper (sometimes it defaults to only enabling one or two when you change to a different interface).
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 9919
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

Postby CS70 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 6:53 am

FrankF wrote:So how on earth do people hook things up? My setup isn't unusual, I've got an audio i/f and a daw, what am I doing wrong?

While most PCs come with a basic built-in audio interface, I dont know of anyone who uses both speakers connected to the interface and a different pair connected to the pc.
It makes no sense duplicating, and if you do, every time you have to tell Windows where to send audio, which is boring.

So forget the built-in audio: simply connect the speakers (and headphones) to the interface, and use them for everything - in Reaper, select the Scarlett ASIO driver; for the rest of Windows applications, you go to Sound setting and select the Scarlett as sound output.

Once you've done it, it's set. If you want, you can even go as far to disable the built-in audio (in Device Manager) so that it doesn't appear at all in Windows.

That way. both the DAW and the regular applications will send the sound to the interface, and it will come out from speakers/headphones connected to the interface.

You can also look at the recent thread (https://www.soundonsound.com/forum/view ... 20&t=67424) to understand why ASIO and Windows are separate and parallel subsystems which exist in order to avoid recording latency.
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6485
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video and the FB page

Re: Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

Postby FrankF » Tue Aug 13, 2019 9:48 am

Many thanks for all the replies, chaps: I'll work on it this morning.
I think part of the problem is that I'm converting a long-standing work/entertainment PC into a music PC, without realising that the Scarlett needs to be the centre of all things audio.
I guess I just need to focus right. :oops:
I'm only doing this 'cos the multitrack is getting old and unrepairable.
But then aren't we all, boom boom!
FrankF
Regular
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 12:00 am
Location: La Vendée, France

Re: Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

Postby James Perrett » Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:18 am

I hope I don't confuse things by saying this but it appears that you can use the analogue inputs on your Alesis monitors at the same time as the USB input. So it would be possible to continue to use your Alesis speakers via USB for all the home entertainment stuff while sending them an analogue output from the Focusrite when you are using them for recording.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 9919
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

Postby Watchmaker » Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:36 am

FrankF wrote:I guess I just need to focus right. :oops:

:clap:
User avatar
Watchmaker
Frequent Poster
Posts: 867
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:00 am
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Take my advice, I'm not using it.

Re: Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

Postby FrankF » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:58 pm

- I've now disconnected the USB cable from the Alesis speakers and connected them via jack cables to the Scarlett.
- In Windows I've made the Scarlett the default i/o device for rec. and playback.
- I've restarted the PC.
- I now have no sound at all: no input mon. and no recorded playback - thought the live input is reaching Reaper.
- I tried fiddling with the "routing presets" in MixControl, to no avail.

- I'm all ears, so to speak!
FrankF
Regular
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 12:00 am
Location: La Vendée, France

Re: Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

Postby FrankF » Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:08 pm

James Perrett wrote:I hope I don't confuse things by saying this but it appears that you can use the analogue inputs on your Alesis monitors at the same time as the USB input.
Hi James, a couple of other people said that this was the cause of my problems, which is why I tried the rewire (see above). But I'm still all ears.
FrankF
Regular
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 12:00 am
Location: La Vendée, France

Re: Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

Postby CS70 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:10 pm

You're on the right way. The USB speakers have left and right jack input, right? They are, of course, powered up? The headphones should work fine even if you the monitors don't, so it's very likely to be a simple setting, like volume all the way down or outputs muted. Headphone monitor level is up and not muted? If you have more than one output, have you told the interface where to send the sound (i.e. to where you have connected the jacks)?

Start with windows sound settings and forget reaper for a moment.

Do you have the volume level up? In sound settings you can test the playback level. If you right click your sound icon (on the taskbar) where's the volume?
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6485
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video and the FB page

Re: Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

Postby CS70 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:15 pm

FrankF wrote:
James Perrett wrote:I hope I don't confuse things by saying this but it appears that you can use the analogue inputs on your Alesis monitors at the same time as the USB input.
Hi James, a couple of other people said that this was the cause of my problems, which is why I tried the rewire (see above). But I'm still all ears.

You can, but best to start up simple and go a step at a time.

Since you have experience of connecting analog equipment, do realize there's nothing different with a PC - you still need "cables" and devices to move the audio from here to there - only some of them will be digital, i.e. moving data inside different software parts in the computer instead of having voltage differences over a physical cable.

Conceptually there's nothing different - a signal still has to go from A to B thru a series of devices - only some devices are software components running in Windows)
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6485
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video and the FB page

Re: Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

Postby James Perrett » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:12 pm

Probably best to ignore my suggestion for now until you've got things working.

I can't see your older posts but have you tried playing a CD player or MP3 player through the speakers to check that the analogue inputs are working?

If the speakers are working then you'll need to get to grips with the Focusrite software control panel and make sure that you are sending audio where you think you are. The control panel on my Focusrite interface is a triumph of style over function and the outputs sometimes stop working for no apparent reason but I would have hoped that things have improved with more recent interfaces. On mine you can either have separate headphone mixes on outputs 5 and 6 or send outputs 1 and 2 to the headphones and the only way to tell how this is set up is looking at a tiny little button.

Sometimes when I have real problems with routing I'll set up a project that sends the signal to all outputs - something that is fairly easy in Reaper.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 9919
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

Postby FrankF » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:53 pm

"The control panel on my Focusrite interface is a triumph of style over function..."
Well, I'm glad I'm not the only one who's less than impressed with Focusrite's s/w interface: my version of MixCtl won't even resize to full-screen, so there's no point in doing a screenshot.
FrankF
Regular
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 12:00 am
Location: La Vendée, France

Re: Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

Postby FrankF » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:57 pm

Hi CS70, thanks. I've checked the h/w: it's the s/w that's driving me up the wall and across the ceiling.
FrankF
Regular
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 12:00 am
Location: La Vendée, France

Re: Migrating from multitrack to PC: I can't get no (output) satisfaction

Postby blinddrew » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:30 pm

Would a couple of screenshots of my set-up help?
Also, what set of outputs have you got the speakers plugged into and are you getting headphones signal?
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12044
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

PreviousNext