You are here

Reaper 6 is out

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby desmond » Fri Dec 06, 2019 4:25 pm

Hmm... That's an awful lot of armchair programming assumptions there...

Distributed, or high turnover teams doesn't necessarily mean the code is full of crap, it's all to do with the management that matters.

I can assure you, at least on one of the products you mention, the team are pretty awesome code ninjas. Size is dependent on many things. Reaper is small and efficient for sure, but it's codebase is a lot newer than other products, and that's an advantage.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9229
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby Ariosto » Fri Dec 06, 2019 5:25 pm

I've downloaded V6 but I see it says it is an evaluation version and it hasn't my licence details at the top. This means I will have to pay to use V6? I do not see any difference anyway with the one (V5) I had set up to my specs, so I've gone back to V5. If there are advantages that I feel I need then I might go to V6 eventually.
Ariosto
Frequent Poster
Posts: 856
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:00 am
Location: LONDON, UK

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby Sam Spoons » Fri Dec 06, 2019 5:34 pm

Reaper licences seem to run for the current version and the next version, I must have licensed mine e=for an early version of V5 as it is good 'till V6.99. If you do decide to go for V6 your licence will run until V7.99 so it's pretty good value, especially compared to a Cubase upgrade.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11555
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby ConcertinaChap » Fri Dec 06, 2019 5:45 pm

The Red Bladder wrote:There are other reasons it is so small, not least of which is that it is a non-destructive series of commands. If you cut a file or add a fade, you have not actually cut anything or altered any values, but you have told the SW to stop playing the file at that point or play it back at a reduced volume.

Bit puzzled by this. I thought non-destructive editing was the way all DAWs worked. Certainly the way Logic works. Clarification please?

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8294
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
If you want me I'll be down on Sound on Sound on Sound.

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby Ariosto » Fri Dec 06, 2019 6:03 pm

Sam Spoons wrote:Reaper licences seem to run for the current version and the next version, I must have licensed mine e=for an early version of V5 as it is good 'till V6.99. If you do decide to go for V6 your licence will run until V7.99 so it's pretty good value, especially compared to a Cubase upgrade.

Yes, it is good value. I think I paid for my licence in 2013 as I had just changed to a Mac and the old licence I had from about 2006 was for Windoze and therefore i had to get a new licence. I will use V5 for a bit longer and maybe change next year - but have to decide about continuing with Mac or going down the Windows route.
Ariosto
Frequent Poster
Posts: 856
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:00 am
Location: LONDON, UK

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby N i g e l » Fri Dec 06, 2019 6:16 pm

In cakewalk I can edit the ends of an audio clip inwards so that it becomes smaller or add fade in fade out. I can then adust the edits as required as nothing was damaged.
However if I then "bounce to clip" all the edits on the clip become permenant [but I can UNDO EDIT, as you might expect in any other application ].

So the Reaper Guy is the Winamp Guy !
The price for two major versions doesnt require thought and 1 licence is good for both my desktop & laptop. Thats a box ticked.

Can it do elastic audio ? I use Roland V-Vocal which seems too integrated with cakewalk to run elsewhere as a VST.
eg I want to take a vocal and manipulate it by pushing and pulling the timing/dynamics/pitch

poooooosh and shove the timing
push and shoooooove the timing
psh and shve - the timinggggggg

etc
N i g e l
Frequent Poster
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm
Location: UK

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby Ramirez » Fri Dec 06, 2019 9:48 pm

The Red Bladder wrote:
N i g e l wrote:Hmmm, reaper is an awfully small download ????????
That is because it gets written once.

Big packages that come from companies like Avid or Apple (ProTools or Logic) pass through many hands and so many routines get written into them. The next team to come along and try to update it with, say, a new feature, find themselves confronted with reams of interlocking code and very often disgruntled programmers that have destroyed all notes about what does what and how. In the case of ProTools, parts were written in India, then in Ukraine and then in Poland. Tyhe result is often page after page of dead and irrelevant code, some of which may perform a vital function but most of which is redundant.

Reaper is one guy heading the team and he and his team are all C++ Ninjas. The same guy who wrote version one, wrote version six.

There are other reasons it is so small, not least of which is that it is a non-destructive series of commands. If you cut a file or add a fade, you have not actually cut anything or altered any values, but you have told the SW to stop playing the file at that point or play it back at a reduced volume. This means that Reaper can wrangle far larger projects than most other DAWs on the same machine.

Hmm.

Pretty much all DAWs work non-destructively without affecting the source files (unless you want to)

Also, a lot of Reaper’s functionality comes
from added extension packs that are not part of the main download.

But the main reason it’s so small compared to most DAWs is that it doesn’t have any bundled sounds/samples/instruments etc.

Aled
Ramirez
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1029
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Bethesda, Cymru
Bill Withers while Tom Waits, and Stan Getz

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby James Perrett » Sat Dec 07, 2019 12:24 am

N i g e l wrote:Can it do elastic audio ? I use Roland V-Vocal which seems too integrated with cakewalk to run elsewhere as a VST.
eg I want to take a vocal and manipulate it by pushing and pulling the timing/dynamics/pitch

It is very easy to adjust timing using stretch markers in Reaper. You can also adjust pitch and level manually using envelopes or automatically using the supplied plug-ins.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 8894
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby desmond » Sat Dec 07, 2019 12:59 am

Ramirez wrote:But the main reason it’s so small compared to most DAWs is that it doesn’t have any bundled sounds/samples/instruments etc.

Yep - Alchemy alone, just one synth in Logic, at 51MB, is just under half the size of Reaper alone (121MB)...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9229
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby blinddrew » Sat Dec 07, 2019 10:57 am

You're an order of magnitude out there Desmond, Reaper is 12MB not 120...
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9501
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby Sam Spoons » Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:41 am

I'm on a Mac but Reaper takes up ~60MB of disk space.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11555
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby blinddrew » Sat Dec 07, 2019 12:25 pm

Yes, sorry, it unpacks larger. I was talking download size. Which is about 18MB for a Mac.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9501
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby Sam Spoons » Sat Dec 07, 2019 12:51 pm

Makes sense. :thumbup:
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11555
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby merlyn » Sat Dec 07, 2019 1:27 pm

I thought Reaper was smaller because it isn't full of copy protection code. I remember seeing that on the Reaper website years ago. The implication of this is that Reaper is the actual size of a DAW, and other commercial products are bloated with copy protection code.

I have heard that crackers use software to analyse the binary. One way to put crackers off is brute force junk code that crackers have to wade through to find the relevant bit of code.
merlyn
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 3:15 am

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby desmond » Sat Dec 07, 2019 9:07 pm

blinddrew wrote:You're an order of magnitude out there Desmond, Reaper is 12MB not 120...

On my Mac, the app is 120MB...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9229
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

PreviousNext