You are here

Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Moderator: Moderators

Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

Postby Scarab » Tue Jan 26, 2021 3:02 pm

Hi,

Pile of stuff: MAC Mini, Behringer UMC204 (borrowed) audio interface (with MIDI), Roland JV-1010 module, Keylab Essential 49 controller. (Various DAW Logic, Reaper, Ableton , all trials at moment) (also cheap MIDI in/out usb interface), RCF monitors.

This is a don't need to do it but want to do it situation but have probably got better things to do.

Keylab to computer, no problem.
Behringer audio no problem. Both USB

Really want to try connecting MIDI out of behringer to Roland JV1010, because I've got one, and don't just want to throw away/put away. Can't remember if I tried the cheap interface, now, reconnected things so many times!

In MIDI/AUDIO setup
Chain goes (Keylab USB to computer)
1: Keylab port 1 out to..
>..... Behringer Port in

2: Behringer Port out to...
...external synth IN

Physical connections: Keylab USB to MAC, Behringer USB to MAC,
BEhringer MIDI out cable to MIDI in JV-1010
JV-1010 audio out to BEhringer audio in. ( I know for certain the cables work)

Using the test midi: I can see/hear the Keylab is connected
clicking MIDI out of Behringer produces sound from JV1010 (must remember to turn volume down next time!)

So looks like there is no functioning connection between Keylab to Behringer.

Am I just doing something really stupid? You needn't answer that one, I'm on my case already.

Is it that I can only control the module directly from the physical MIDI out of Keylab?

The only other thing I can think of trying is taking up Yoga and going to live somewhere where there is no electricity.

Thanks
Rob
Scarab
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2021 2:24 pm

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

Postby Sam Spoons » Tue Jan 26, 2021 4:16 pm

I can't tell from your post* if you are using the DIN midi out from the Keylab into the UMC204? I guess you've proved the Keylab to JV connection using it but if you are relying on the Keylab USB for getting midi into the DAW then that could be the issue as you'll probably need to enable a 'thru' somewhere. I'd guess you would also need to activate a 'soft thru' in the UMC if using the DIN midi in too but not sure.

Welcome BTW :thumbup:

* I may be missing something obvious :blush:
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15643
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Still taking this recording lark seriously (and trying to record my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

Postby Tomás Mulcahy » Tue Jan 26, 2021 4:18 pm

Audio MIDI setup does not have MIDI THRU. You have to route the keylab to the Roland inside the DAW. Same as you would route it to a synth plugin.
User avatar
Tomás Mulcahy
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1985
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Cork, Ireland.

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

Postby blakedirksen » Tue Jan 26, 2021 6:47 pm

A related question, do many people utilize MIDI out from their DAW? I have always looked at that port and wondered what use that would have (I work totally in the box). Is it mostly legacy stuff or is there some clever use I am totally missing?
User avatar
blakedirksen
Poster
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2020 8:29 pm
Location: Coralville, Iowa USA

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

Postby desmond » Tue Jan 26, 2021 7:41 pm

blakedirksen wrote:A related question, do many people utilize MIDI out from their DAW? I have always looked at that port and wondered what use that would have (I work totally in the box). Is it mostly legacy stuff or is there some clever use I am totally missing?

It comes in handy when you have a room full of MIDI gear.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11452
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

Postby The Elf » Tue Jan 26, 2021 9:59 pm

Yeah, a MIDI output can sometimes come in handy for the odd bit of gear we have lying around that's not a plug-in :lol: ;) ...
Image
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 16584
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

Postby blinddrew » Tue Jan 26, 2021 10:59 pm

Are those circular rings at the back a massive fan to keep the whole lot cool?
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14264
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

Postby desmond » Tue Jan 26, 2021 11:00 pm

Magic Toadstool fumes.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11452
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

Postby blakedirksen » Tue Jan 26, 2021 11:01 pm

That is a pretty awesome pic and I get not wanting to lose out on legacy gear. Do you then have to run the signal back into your DAW? I have some old keyboards and such but have NO interest in hearing those sounds/samples ever again.
User avatar
blakedirksen
Poster
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2020 8:29 pm
Location: Coralville, Iowa USA

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

Postby The Elf » Tue Jan 26, 2021 11:06 pm

blinddrew wrote:Are those circular rings at the back a massive fan to keep the whole lot cool?
Ah, the magic of light-mapping! ;)
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 16584
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

Postby The Elf » Tue Jan 26, 2021 11:13 pm

blakedirksen wrote:That is a pretty awesome pic and I get not wanting to lose out on legacy gear.
:D

blakedirksen wrote:Do you then have to run the signal back into your DAW?
It all just comes in via my audio interface - it's pretty simple, really, and no trouble.

blakedirksen wrote:I have some old keyboards and such but have NO interest in hearing those sounds/samples ever again.
I've no interest in samples, which are just 1s and 0s to me (I'm not interested in the 'magic' of 12 bit grungery...), but as much as I like some plug-ins, none of them reacts truly like my old analogue gear. And then there's the performance aspect...
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 16584
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

Postby blakedirksen » Wed Jan 27, 2021 6:52 pm

Thanks for the comments. I will dig into it a bit more (always fun to add new ideas to the VERY long list of fun things to try).
User avatar
blakedirksen
Poster
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2020 8:29 pm
Location: Coralville, Iowa USA