You are here

slight 02r96 problem

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

slight 02r96 problem

Postby OneWorld » Tue Jun 26, 2018 3:16 pm

Some time ago I acquired an 02r96, with a view to coming out of the bx, 24 faders yipee!

But I find when I switch the 02r96 on, it works fine except if I change any parameters quickly, for example if I spin the jog wheel quickly, the mixer 'freezes'

However, if I switch in on and leave it standing to warm up, say 15 mins or so, it's fine, everything is as normal.

Anyone with any ideas what this could be? Power supply maybe?
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2309
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: slight 02r96 problem

Postby resistorman » Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:04 am

Interesting. The power supply would be my guess too, as it sounds like it needs some time to stabilize. On the other hand, have you tried a hard reset? Replaced the battery?
User avatar
resistorman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 564
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:00 am
Location: Asheville NC
future26.com

Re: slight 02r96 problem

Postby OneWorld » Fri Jun 29, 2018 5:21 pm

resistorman wrote:Interesting. The power supply would be my guess too, as it sounds like it needs some time to stabilize. On the other hand, have you tried a hard reset? Replaced the battery?

Yes have done a hard reset, and when I do the built battery check, it comes back with "I'm fine"

I am wondering whether some capacitators are flagging out, taking more time to hold charge, as it works no problem whatsoever once it has got a head of steam up
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2309
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: slight 02r96 problem

Postby VTypeV4 » Sat Jul 07, 2018 9:37 pm

Not a '96 but when I had a supply fail in one of my original 02Rs, it was a bit 'twitchy' before it eventually died a few weeks later. It did a good job too, lots of things had to be replaced as when it went down, it took a number of the A/D convertors too - yours might be worth checking over as it wasn't a cheap fix. It's been rock solid since..
User avatar
VTypeV4
Poster
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 1:34 am
Location: Newcastle Under Lyme
Synkronize Music Group: Mastering House, Multi-track recording and bespoke tuition services.

www.synkronize.co.uk & www.facebook.com/synkronizemusicgroup
Equipped with Yamaha, A&H, JBL, Sony, TC Electronic, DBX and MOTU.

Re: slight 02r96 problem

Postby OneWorld » Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:00 pm

VTypeV4 wrote:Not a '96 but when I had a supply fail in one of my original 02Rs, it was a bit 'twitchy' before it eventually died a few weeks later. It did a good job too, lots of things had to be replaced as when it went down, it took a number of the A/D convertors too - yours might be worth checking over as it wasn't a cheap fix. It's been rock solid since..

I think I'll sell it. It has had this problem for ages, doesn't seem to be getting any worse, just always needs 5 mins to warm up
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2309
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: slight 02r96 problem

Postby Pete Kaine » Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:26 pm

VTypeV4 wrote:Not a '96 but when I had a supply fail in one of my original 02Rs, it was a bit 'twitchy' before it eventually died a few weeks later. It did a good job too, lots of things had to be replaced as when it went down, it took a number of the A/D convertors too - yours might be worth checking over as it wasn't a cheap fix. It's been rock solid since..

They were prone to it, I had a couple too. First of all channel 1 turned to white noise and then over a few months it spread to other channels. I sent it back to Yamaha for a service (not cheap, but fair) and the PSU decided to die between leaving their office and arriving at my home.

On the plus side, it was then fixed gratis under the 30 warranty supplied after switching out the A/D chips. Also worked fine for as long as I had it afterwards.
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2893
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Manchester
Kit to fuel your G.A.S - https://www.scan.co.uk/shop/pro-audio

Re: slight 02r96 problem

Postby ef37a » Wed Jul 11, 2018 7:31 pm

Sounds to me like a clock that is slightly off frequency and once up to temperature the PLL 'locks in' ?

Like yer old telly with the field hold on the limit and you just leave it on and it locks eventually because you can't be arsed to diagnose the fault!

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9275
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: northampton uk

Re: slight 02r96 problem

Postby VTypeV4 » Thu Jul 12, 2018 10:09 pm

OneWorld wrote:
VTypeV4 wrote:Not a '96 but when I had a supply fail in one of my original 02Rs, it was a bit 'twitchy' before it eventually died a few weeks later. It did a good job too, lots of things had to be replaced as when it went down, it took a number of the A/D convertors too - yours might be worth checking over as it wasn't a cheap fix. It's been rock solid since..

I think I'll sell it. It has had this problem for ages, doesn't seem to be getting any worse, just always needs 5 mins to warm up

If you do consider that - PM me..
User avatar
VTypeV4
Poster
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 1:34 am
Location: Newcastle Under Lyme
Synkronize Music Group: Mastering House, Multi-track recording and bespoke tuition services.

www.synkronize.co.uk & www.facebook.com/synkronizemusicgroup
Equipped with Yamaha, A&H, JBL, Sony, TC Electronic, DBX and MOTU.

Re: slight 02r96 problem

Postby OneWorld » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:37 am

ef37a wrote:Sounds to me like a clock that is slightly off frequency and once up to temperature the PLL 'locks in' ?

Like yer old telly with the field hold on the limit and you just leave it on and it locks eventually because you can't be arsed to diagnose the fault!

Dave.

Thanks, could you tell me exactly what you do with your ar*e when you're diagnosing a fault?
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2309
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: slight 02r96 problem

Postby OneWorld » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:46 am

VTypeV4 wrote:
OneWorld wrote:
VTypeV4 wrote:Not a '96 but when I had a supply fail in one of my original 02Rs, it was a bit 'twitchy' before it eventually died a few weeks later. It did a good job too, lots of things had to be replaced as when it went down, it took a number of the A/D convertors too - yours might be worth checking over as it wasn't a cheap fix. It's been rock solid since..

I think I'll sell it. It has had this problem for ages, doesn't seem to be getting any worse, just always needs 5 mins to warm up

If you do consider that - PM me..

I tried to PM you but I can't fathom how to send a PM. I clicked the PM icon and typed in the text but cannot find a 'send' button, could you PM me please?
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2309
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: slight 02r96 problem

Postby OneWorld » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:52 am

Pete Kaine wrote:They were prone to it, I had a couple too. First of all channel 1 turned to white noise and then over a few months it spread to other channels. I sent it back to Yamaha for a service (not cheap, but fair) and the PSU decided to die between leaving their office and arriving at my home.

Coincidentally, I had an 01v6 before this and channel 1 went down, but only on the analogue side.

If I patched ADAT 1 to Channel 1 (instead of using CH1 line/mic) it was fine and stayed that way for years, no other problem presented itself, it always worked flawlessy, as per usual for Yammy equipment.

That being said I loaned it out to a pal of mine and it was fine before that, it came back with CH1 line/mic not working but of course my pal said "not me guv" so my suspicions lay with the user not the technology
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2309
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: slight 02r96 problem

Postby blinddrew » Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:23 pm

OneWorld wrote:I tried to PM you but I can't fathom how to send a PM. I clicked the PM icon and typed in the text but cannot find a 'send' button, could you PM me please?

It's a 'feature' of this forum, click the envelope below someone's name, then SCROLL DOWN... what looks like the content box is actually just the first box that allows you to add additional recipients.
Further down is the actual content box with the standard red 'submit' button below it.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4716
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 11:00 pm
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users