You are here

Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Re: Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

Postby Piskeh » Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:52 pm

Wonks wrote:Is this the headphone output on the 2i2 you're talking about?

But I will try using that driver, I'd just hate not being able to monitor...
Piskeh
Poster
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:16 pm

Re: Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

Postby Wonks » Tue Oct 16, 2018 11:01 pm

Unfortunately Windows doesn't like having two different audio drivers running at the same time, so you can either use the internal sound card, or you can use the 2i2.

If your headphones only have a 3.5" mini jack, then you can get adapters for the 1/4" headphone socket on the 2i2, something like this: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3x-6-5mm-1-4 ... SwmoBZbX0-

Also available on Amazon but on there it's as cheap to buy 5 as one! https://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_ss ... 49QETZSNSC
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10886
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

Postby Piskeh » Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:30 pm

Wonks wrote:Unfortunately Windows doesn't like having two different audio drivers running at the same time, so you can either use the internal sound card, or you can use the 2i2.

If your headphones only have a 3.5" mini jack, then you can get adapters for the 1/4" headphone socket on the 2i2, something like this: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3x-6-5mm-1-4 ... SwmoBZbX0-

Also available on Amazon but on there it's as cheap to buy 5 as one! https://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_ss ... 49QETZSNSC

That sucks, but I guess that's what I'm going to have to do with that driver. I will try it. Luckily, I have an adapter thanks to my previous ownership of a pair of Behringer headphones which come with them.

Oh, will the output be from REAPER, or the clean signal from the microphone or can I switch them at will?

Thanks for all the help!
Piskeh
Poster
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:16 pm

Re: Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

Postby blinddrew » Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:33 pm

Piskeh wrote:Oh, will the output be from REAPER, or the clean signal from the microphone or can I switch them at will?

Thanks for all the help!
You should be able to select what's going where using the Scarlett Mix Control software - assuming that came with your interface?
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10489
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

Postby Piskeh » Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:35 pm

blinddrew wrote:
Piskeh wrote:Oh, will the output be from REAPER, or the clean signal from the microphone or can I switch them at will?

Thanks for all the help!
You should be able to select what's going where using the Scarlett Mix Control software - assuming that came with your interface?

I bought it used... :frown:
Luckily though, I believe Scarlett offers that software for free anyway.
Piskeh
Poster
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:16 pm

Re: Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

Postby blinddrew » Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:50 pm

Yep, should be downloadable I think.
Otherwise you'll just have to use the channel monitor button on reaper.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10489
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

Postby Wonks » Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:01 pm

I'm not sure the 2i2 has it as it's a pretty basic 2 in/2 out box. I couldn't see it listed in the software bundle. You can hear the microphone inputs without the signal having to pass into Reaper then out again, by using the 'direct monitor' switch on the front of the unit .
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10886
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

Postby ef37a » Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:57 am

Once you have the drivers sorted out and Reaper optimized I think you can ignore the MixControl software? (I have never bothered with it with my 8i6 but then I hardly ever bother with the 8i6!)

The 2i2 has a Direct Monitoring switch so I would assume the signal will be routed either from inside the AI or back from Reaper?

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11662
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

Postby blinddrew » Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:12 am

Ah right, missed that. DM is the much easier option, thanks folks.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10489
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

Postby Piskeh » Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:47 pm

ef37a wrote:Once you have the drivers sorted out and Reaper optimized I think you can ignore the MixControl software? (I have never bothered with it with my 8i6 but then I hardly ever bother with the 8i6!)

The 2i2 has a Direct Monitoring switch so I would assume the signal will be routed either from inside the AI or back from Reaper?

Dave.

I would love for the audio to be routed back from REAPER, but I might have to settle with DM. I'll just have to figure that part out. This afternoon hopefully I'll try everything you all suggested and get back with some answers.

Thanks for the help!
Piskeh
Poster
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:16 pm

Re: Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

Postby Wonks » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:23 pm

You can have the input audio routed back from Reaper, but there will always be a slight delay due to latency if you enable the monitoring for that channel in Reaper. Add any insert FX on that channel whilst recording and the latency will get worse. Reverb as a send FX is fine as it doesn't add extra latency and any slight delay in the start of reverb won't be noticeable, whilst it can still help you if you are singing. What you don't want is direct monitoring on at the same time as you have the Reaper channel for that input on at the same time, or you'll get noticeable comb filtering on the sound in your headphones.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10886
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

Postby Piskeh » Thu Oct 18, 2018 3:26 pm

Wonks wrote:You can have the input audio routed back from Reaper, but there will always be a slight delay due to latency if you enable the monitoring for that channel in Reaper. Add any insert FX on that channel whilst recording and the latency will get worse. Reverb as a send FX is fine as it doesn't add extra latency and any slight delay in the start of reverb won't be noticeable, whilst it can still help you if you are singing. What you don't want is direct monitoring on at the same time as you have the Reaper channel for that input on at the same time, or you'll get noticeable comb filtering on the sound in your headphones.

Gotcha, my main concerns are being able to hear input before I record to make sure stuff works, hear output after I record it to master etc, and being able to hear the metronome and back tracks while I'm recording so I should be good there.

Thanks!
Piskeh
Poster
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:16 pm

Re: Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

Postby Wonks » Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:00 pm

Great. :thumbup: Hope it all works out for you and those pops and clicks disappear. If you continue to have trouble, then you may need to look at some of Pete Kaine's suggestions to see if there are any programs that are taking up all the processor time. But the correct ASIO driver and 44.1kHz or 48kHz 24-bit recording should really make things a lot easier for you.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10886
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

Postby Piskeh » Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:08 pm

Wonks wrote:Great. :thumbup: Hope it all works out for you and those pops and clicks disappear. If you continue to have trouble, then you may need to look at some of Pete Kaine's suggestions to see if there are any programs that are taking up all the processor time. But the correct ASIO driver and 44.1kHz or 48kHz 24-bit recording should really make things a lot easier for you.

Thanks a ton! I really appreciate all the willingly helpful people y'all got here. :D
Piskeh
Poster
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:16 pm

Re: Pops and Clicks Gradually Getting Stronger - Can you help?

Postby ef37a » Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:49 pm

Hope you are sorted soon. Note, one of the things that is notorious for causing audio problems is any kind of wireless kit. You might need to disable wireless adaptors in Control Panel>Device Manager but before you do any such hacking, set a Restore point.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11662
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

PreviousNext