You are here

And now... the Zoom F6!

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Re: And now... the Zoom F6!

Postby miN2 » Wed May 29, 2019 7:19 am

I'm still impressed by this thing, maybe that's down to my ignorance and lack of experience of hardware mind.

Would it be possible to isolate each converter individually to a seperate audio file? This would allow capturing the quiet sounds in a loud environment?
miN2
Poster
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 9:24 am

Re: And now... the Zoom F6!

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Wed May 29, 2019 8:04 am

No.
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 27856
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: And now... the Zoom F6!

Postby ConcertinaChap » Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:23 pm

Hope you don't mind me resurrecting this thread, the reason being I'm seriously considering getting an F6. I think I've got how this no gain setting business works in recording and it could be very useful to me. I'm involved in a project at a folk festival next year to record substantial parts of it and my particular corner would likely be sessions. These can have quite large and unpredictable dynamic variations over quite short periods. What I'm wondering is what happens when you try and move your recording to a DAW for further editing. For a 24 bit file where I've got the preamp gain right it's just a simple file import, but for the 32 bit file how do you choose the level for the import? Am I even explaining that clearly??

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8891
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
We are normal and we want our freedom!.

Re: And now... the Zoom F6!

Postby Mike Stranks » Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:42 pm

Hi CC

Have you looked at the video I referenced above (Post date: 27 May)? Does that cover what you need to know? My impression is that you drag 'n' drop the file(s) from the recorder into your DAW and then use gain increase/normalise to 'see' the file audio level.
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7332
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 1:00 am

Re: And now... the Zoom F6!

Postby ConcertinaChap » Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:44 pm

I'll give it another shufty, it was months ago I viewed it. Other reasons for looking at the F6 include its size. Recording a session you need to be relatively inconspicuous and it occurs to me the combination of an ambisonic mic like my NT-SF1 and the F6 could make a pretty potent recording combination in a small package.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8891
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
We are normal and we want our freedom!.

Re: And now... the Zoom F6!

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:07 pm

You should be able just to drag the 32-bit Float file into your DAW and carry on as normal...

But just in case the 32-bit Float format isn't compatible with a specific DAW, there is an option to record within the zoom to both 24-bit WAV and 32-bit Float at the same time -- a bit like a DSLR saving both JPG and RAW files simultaneously, so you have options!

Unfortunately, I can't find a list of 32-bit Float-compatible DAWs on the Zoom site... which seems a bit of an oversight!

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 27856
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: And now... the Zoom F6!

Postby ConcertinaChap » Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:08 pm

Well that was interesting. I found a couple of short 32 bit float files online and tried importing them into Logic. In both cases Logic proceeded to create 24 bit versions of the files alongside the original files and then imported those (means your files for import have to be on writeable media with space for the intermediate files to be created). I need to do some more experimenting, I think, before I really understand how it will handle the Zoom files.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8891
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
We are normal and we want our freedom!.

Re: And now... the Zoom F6!

Postby blinddrew » Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:13 pm

Or drop Zoom a note and ask the question?
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10798
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: And now... the Zoom F6!

Postby ConcertinaChap » Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:19 pm

If I can't dig up the answer for myself I will, but I shouldn't have thought Zoom are going to be huge experts in Logic. The ideal thing would be to get hold of a file or two that was recorded on an F6 (I got a long way with Logic when experimenting with example Ambisonic files) but that's unlikely as the beast is only now coming into the shops.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8891
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
We are normal and we want our freedom!.

Re: And now... the Zoom F6!

Postby ConcertinaChap » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:25 pm

Of course the Zoom H3-VR could be a ready made for this job IF the quality is up to snuff ...

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8891
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
We are normal and we want our freedom!.

Previous