You are here

Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby ef37a » Mon May 11, 2020 7:28 pm

The USB ports and their management on PCs and laptops seem to always come in for stick when things go wrong but IMVHO I think the problem lies mostly with the interface and especially its drivers?

A day or two ago I plugged my KA6 into this W10 Lenovo T510 and...nothing. No notice given of its connection, no waiting for Windows to install drivers, the green LED on the interface was steady 2 seconds after connection and when I opened Samplitude, bish-bosh, there was the KA6 in the devices list. Set ASIO and we were away!

This is always the case with the NI AI on any computer I have installed it on.

I was actually using a small 4"woofer in a hi fi speaker as a microphone to record some 30Hz tone but that's a whole other story!

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11495
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby DanR » Mon May 11, 2020 7:55 pm

ef37a wrote:The USB ports and their management on PCs and laptops seem to always come in for stick when things go wrong but IMVHO I think the problem lies mostly with the interface and especially its drivers?

Yes. Can’t do much about it if the drivers are the problem.
I’m hoping in a way, that the 2i2’s data connection problems are down to the drivers rather than the USB ports.
Will see how the Steinberg fairs from my Acer’s usb 3.0 port.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby DanR » Wed May 13, 2020 11:01 am

I think it may have been a driver issue with the 2i2 as the Steinberg powers up from PC off and is recognized from the usb 3.0 port.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby Pete Kaine » Thu May 14, 2020 9:43 am

What gen Focusrite is it? The older Xmos implementation found on the gen 1's and a dozen other brands was always a bit fussy about USB 3, Normally USB 2 would be the answer but that's getting a bit tricky these days.
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3171
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Manchester
Kit to fuel your G.A.S - https://www.scan.co.uk/shop/pro-audio

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby OneWorld » Thu May 14, 2020 11:27 am

I have an identical problem with Novation Launchpad. Thing is it worked fine until Win10 did one of it's major updates. And try as I might, whatever settings, power management, USB stuff, it will not start up until WIndows is up and running, and then I unplug the USB, plug it in again and then it works. The computer 'sees' it, but Cubase doesn't
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2733
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby DanR » Fri May 15, 2020 12:13 pm

Pete Kaine wrote:What gen Focusrite is it? The older Xmos implementation found on the gen 1's and a dozen other brands was always a bit fussy about USB 3, Normally USB 2 would be the answer but that's getting a bit tricky these days.

1st gen 2i2.
Just wasn’t recognised on any port from startup.
The new Steinberg UR22c I have now is fine in this regard. Works from any port.
Now the issue seems to be occasional audio dropouts with usb light sometimes going off.
It’s a long standing problem with the UR22 MkII.
Have tried all the usual - disable WiFi, AV software, edit power settings.

Not having much luck with audio interfaces on W10. I read that re. driver reliability, RME is top then MOTU followed by Steinberg.
Also as a Cubase user, I thought go with Steinberg hardware.
I may be able to sort it out but it can be quite a time consuming process, trying different things.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby DanR » Fri May 15, 2020 4:16 pm

Had a pointer from FB Cubase users to the latest driver for the URc interfaces.
I was using what I thought was the latest one.
Hoping it will be ok now.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Previous