You are here

Recording from guitar amps headphone out?

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Recording from guitar amps headphone out?

Postby gingertimmins » Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:27 am

Hi all, I hope you are keeping well during the pandemic.
With me being pretty much confined to the house I need to sort out a basic home recording rig as pretty much everything I own is now locked up in the studio space that I rent.

I have found a tone that I like on my nux mighty lite micro amp and I’d like to record that into cubase elements via my steinberg ur242.
Is it as simple as going from 3.5mm out on the amp to an input in the ur242 with a headphone adapter?
Anything I need to know about impedance? Should I engage the hi-z switch?

I’m aware of the fact that I can use the amp sim in cubase but I struggle to find something that I like and I’ve dialled in this micro amp for a sound that I really enjoy!

Stay safe everyone!
gingertimmins
Regular
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 1:00 am

Re: Recording from guitar amps headphone out?

Postby Arpangel » Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:46 am

I do this all the time with my Roland amp, you simply take an adaptor and plug it into your interface, no need to engage the hi-z switch as it’ll be a line level signal, probably a slightly hot one, so just be careful with the levels.
User avatar
Arpangel
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3833
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 12:00 am
https://anthonyflynn.bandcamp.com/album/toy-town

Re: Recording from guitar amps headphone out?

Postby Wonks » Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:51 am

Hi-z is only for direct guitar connection.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10885
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Recording from guitar amps headphone out?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Wed Mar 25, 2020 11:08 am

gingertimmins wrote:Is it as simple as going from 3.5mm out on the amp to an input in the ur242 with a headphone adapter?

The headphone output will be wired as dual mono and unbalanced (Ie. the same signal on the tip and ring contacts), while the line inputs of the interface will be balanced (ie. looking for the difference between whatever is on the tip and ring contacts).

So you'll either need to use a splitter cable (TRS plug one end (for the headphone socket) to two TS plugs at the other -- you'll only need to plug one of the TS plugs into your interface) or some kind of mono adapter.
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 27099
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: Recording from guitar amps headphone out?

Postby gingertimmins » Wed Mar 25, 2020 12:24 pm

Cheers chaps, I’ll have a dig through my box of wires and see if I have the suitable cables otherwise it’s of to the shops to....oh, wait....
gingertimmins
Regular
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 1:00 am

Re: Recording from guitar amps headphone out?

Postby ef37a » Wed Mar 25, 2020 12:44 pm

gingertimmins wrote:Cheers chaps, I’ll have a dig through my box of wires and see if I have the suitable cables otherwise it’s of to the shops to....oh, wait....

If you find nothing that works give me a PM I am sure to have something in my rat's nest of odd cables you can use.

I can stick it in a jiffy and you can dunk it in meths! (ISPROPA is MUCH rarer than the finest malts!)
Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11510
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk