Main Forums >> Mac Music
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
noiseannoys

Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 clipping
      #1028207 - 11/01/13 09:56 PM
Hi all, newbie here. I'm hoping one of you clever chaps can help me out here. I'm relatively new to digital recording (though I've used Macs forever). I recently purchased a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 to use with my imac (2008/9) for the specific purpose of being able to just plug in my guitar and record, using the internal models for tone should I so require. Despite what Focusrite claim, you can't do it. Even with the gain knob, and guitar volume, right down, clipping occurs and this seems to be a common complaint across the web. Am I missing something here? Common advice seems to be to buy a DI box, which I don't want to do (as good ones cost as much as the Scarlett). I'm just so disappointed. I've tried using the line out from my guitar amp and inputting with the socket set to line, but it's just too noisy. I assume micing the amp will have the same result. Short of sending the thing back to Amazon, I'm out of ideas.

--------------------
Duh!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Frog

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 clipping new [Re: noiseannoys]
      #1028209 - 11/01/13 10:13 PM
Edit, sorry my mistake.
The 2i2 automatically switches between mic and instrument inputs depending on the input plug you use. The xlr is automatically switched to low level(for mics) and the jack input is higher level for instruments. For a guitar input you will need jack to jack.
Sean

Edited by Frog (11/01/13 10:20 PM)

nar

Loc: Manchester
      #1028213 - 11/01/13 10:35 PM