Main Forums >> Production - Mixing, Mastering, Gear & Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
Soundblaster

Moving out from Garage Band
      #1019103 - 18/11/12 01:43 AM
Hello everyone, I've been fooling around with garageband for a while and want to get back into making music with my computer, and was wondering which program would be good to buy!
I use to have cubase but now i just fiddle around on garage band on my pod but am really annoye by the lack of brass/woodwind emulators.

Im looking for something that can be handled by a laptop with a 1.3ghz dual core and is similar to garageband but with more instruments. Im still pretty new at this so anyone who's willing to share their expertise would be great!

Thx

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
darrylonguitar

Re: Moving out from Garage Band new [Re: Soundblaster]
      #1019107 - 18/11/12 05:11 AM
I really recommend trying the demo/trial version of a few DAWs for a few days each. Whichever you have the most fun with and you find the easiest and fasted to set up audio routing is probably the way to go without considering budget. I would start with the following...

Studio One
Logic
Cubase
REAPER
Ableton Live

As for the woodwinds and brass, many of the major DAWs have Suite/Producer/Complete branded bundles that include large sample libraries. Another option is to purchase a third party sample library with quality samples. The advantage of the "native" sample libraries is that they usually have useful presets created for the DAW's native sample player.

When I was starting from the ground up a few years ago I hated Cubase and Cakewalk, enjoyed REAPER a bit more, and found Ableton Live to be absolutely the most intuitive as far as audio routing and setting up instruments and effects. I hear great things about Logic, but I'm on Windows.