You are here

Focusrite Saffire Pro 14 - Low output?

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Focusrite Saffire Pro 14 - Low output?

Postby HenryB » Wed May 25, 2011 12:39 pm

Hi there,

Just replaced my MOTU Traveler with a Saffire Pro 14 for downsizing purposes - but I've found the outputs on the Saffire to be really low compared to the Traveler, probably just over half the previous level.

Does anyone have any ideas/fixes that might help me get my output back up?

Thanks!
Henry
HenryB
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 11:00 pm

Re: Focusrite Saffire Pro 14 - Low output?

Postby DAGGILARR » Wed May 25, 2011 6:27 pm

I had one of these and I discovered that all of the gain is bunched up at the top of the scale. I still have a Saffire 24 and its the same, all the gain is above 8 its almost as if the 0 to 7.9 may as well not be there. I also find that the adjustments between 8 and 10 need to be minute.The pre's are OK but these controls, I find, are a pain. Focusrite call this "non linear gain" or something
User avatar
DAGGILARR
Frequent Poster
Posts: 711
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:00 pm
Location: Exeter, Devon.

iMac 27" i7 2.9gh 2010 12GB ram, Focusrite Pro24DSP.


Re: Focusrite Saffire Pro 14 - Low output?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Wed May 25, 2011 6:42 pm

It's a very common problem with 'budget' preamps, and while there are ways around it they all add to the expense.

Hugh
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 16753
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK

Technical Editor, Sound On Sound


Re: Focusrite Saffire Pro 14 - Low output?

Postby Neokoenig » Wed May 25, 2011 7:51 pm

I find a similiar thing on the Pro40, but it's actually quite useful when you're tracking drums with no pads on the channels: you get more control over the high level volume sources..
User avatar
Neokoenig
Regular
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 11:00 pm
Location: Oxford

 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest