You are here

Subs in bridge - are we doing it wrong?

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Subs in bridge - are we doing it wrong?

Postby lith » Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:58 pm

Hello Sound on Sound!

Me and band have two TOA 18" subs, 800 W at 8 ohm, with Eminence (think it's Omega Pro) elements. We also have a power amp from Crown, the XLS 5000, which gives us, in bridge mode, 5000 W at 4 ohm and 3600 W at 8 ohm.
When rehearsing we usually only use one of the subs (with the power amp in bridge mode), and out gigging we're using both subs, paralleled connected, and with the amp in bridge-mode. The one we've been using while rehearsing sounds like sh*t (it's broken, for sure).
Are we doing something fundamentally wrong here or could the problem be located somewhere else?

If you're in need of more info, or if I put the thread up in the wrong forums, please let me know.

Best regards
lith
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:00 am

Re: Subs in bridge - are we doing it wrong?

Postby James Perrett » Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:54 pm

If you've been pushing the volume and feeding 3600W into an 800W speaker then I'm not surprised that it sounds a little tired. You should probably just connect each bin to one channel and make sure that the amp doesn't clip.

James.
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 5772
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: The wilds of Hampshire

JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration.
http://www.jrpmusic.co.uk



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests