You are here

Multitracking using hardware

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Re: Multitracking using hardware

Postby The Elf » Sat Jan 12, 2019 5:45 pm

Phew! I'm relieved! :lol: :headbang:
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15397
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Multitracking using hardware

Postby Sam Spoons » Sat Jan 12, 2019 5:51 pm

The Mackie HDR/SDR/MDR, Akai DR16 Pro, Alesis HD24, various Fostexs and, I'm sure, others I have forgotten can do the Digital Hard Disk Recorder with midi sync thing but all are old, potentially unreliable and use obsolete media. I still have my old SDR 24/96 in the rack and it uses IDE drives I've just fired it up and it seems to be working though............ I'm not sure how it would react to a SATA/IDE convertor and an SSD but I may try it (though many of the Amazon reviews suggest the cheap converters are unreliable).

Despite that if I could have both ADAT connectivity and USB in my X32 I would probably have the SDR set up and running but as that is impossible I guess it'll next get turned on in another 2 years.........
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14011
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Multitracking using hardware

Postby The Elf » Sat Jan 12, 2019 6:11 pm

I'll add another thought...

If you intend to get your material mixed elsewhere you need to consider how you will export your data. One client I work with has been using an old Alesis 24-track recorder (just upgraded him to a Zoom LiveTrak) and I've had to keep a Windows XP laptop with Firewire port to be able to transfer the audio data. Another client sends me CDs from an old Roland recorder that writes in a bespoke format - which again requires me to drag out the WinXP laptop with CD drive to run some conversion software.

Of course, this may not be of concern to you, but just thought I should mention it.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15397
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Multitracking using hardware

Postby ConcertinaChap » Sat Jan 12, 2019 8:50 pm

Sam Spoons wrote:The Mackie HDR/SDR/MDR, Akai DR16 Pro, Alesis HD24, various Fostexs and, I'm sure, others I have forgotten can do the Digital Hard Disk Recorder with midi sync thing but all are old, potentially unreliable and use obsolete media.

Back in the day I got a 100GB IDE hard drive for my Fostex D series recorder. Worked fine but took two days to format ...

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9239
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
A full wine rack is a happy wine rack.
 

Re: Multitracking using hardware

Postby James Perrett » Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:12 pm

Sam Spoons wrote:The Mackie HDR/SDR/MDR,

Weren't they just PC's with custom software? I'm fairly sure that the Iz Radar system was a PC too. There would be nothing to stop you configuring something like Reaper to work and appear like a hardware multitracker - you just have to resist the temptation to change things once you've set it up and keep it away from the Internet.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 9943
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Multitracking using hardware

Postby Sam Spoons » Sun Jan 13, 2019 12:12 am

Yes, the Akai DR8 and Dr 16 I had were Intel 80386 based (on a custom motherboard and running some variant of UNIX I believe). Not sure about the SDR but I doubt running a modern PC on the Akai DR/OS would be a rewarding experience. Maybe somebody with Linux experience could point us in the right direction?

Apple, for all their failings, don't stray too far from the 'five sets of hardware and one OSX to rule them all' paradigm (yes I know...... but...... OSX only has to run on a fairly limited set of hardware, Windoze has to run on almost anything that is thrown at it.........).
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14011
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Multitracking using hardware

Postby Eddy Deegan » Sun Jan 13, 2019 5:04 am

James Perrett wrote:There would be nothing to stop you configuring something like Reaper to work and appear like a hardware multitracker - you just have to resist the temptation to change things once you've set it up and keep it away from the Internet.

It might come to that. I'm not oblivious to the fact that a fast laptop with an SSD drive or two, dedicated completely to the purpose and using something like the Qu as its interface really does solve a lot of problems. I'd just like to get away from the OS. I dunno, maybe I'm just that jaded with Apple that it put me off everything to do with DAWs, but a Windows system might be better.

At least it's a fall-back option if nothing that wows me on the hardware front turns up.
User avatar
Eddy Deegan
Moderator
Posts: 5107
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
Some of my works
The 2nd SOS Forum Album project
 

Re: Multitracking using hardware

Postby Sam Spoons » Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:09 am

The key to a computer based system is to not allow it access to the internet and to uninstall everything superfluous (which is harder than you might imagine). There used to be a program called "'95lite' (and "'98lite" and "XPlite") which stripped IE and other 'bundled' stuff from Windows and gave you a lean and stripped down version of the respective OS builds. AFAIK nothing similar exists for later versions or OSX.

I use "'98lite and "XPlite" for my music computers with a fair bit of success.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14011
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Multitracking using hardware

Postby James Perrett » Sun Jan 13, 2019 3:47 pm

Eddy Deegan wrote:I'd just like to get away from the OS.

With Reaper you have a choice of Windows, OSX or Linux (though the Linux version may not be quite as full featured as the others yet). I've used standard Windows XP for embedded systems in the past and had no operating system problems. Reaper runs fine under XP although more and more plug-ins require more recent operating systems. If you want to do it properly you could go for an embedded version of Windows.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 9943
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Multitracking using hardware

Postby Eddy Deegan » Sun Jan 13, 2019 6:11 pm

James Perrett wrote:
Eddy Deegan wrote:I'd just like to get away from the OS.

With Reaper you have a choice of Windows, OSX or Linux (though the Linux version may not be quite as full featured as the others yet). I've used standard Windows XP for embedded systems in the past and had no operating system problems. Reaper runs fine under XP although more and more plug-ins require more recent operating systems. If you want to do it properly you could go for an embedded version of Windows.

Funny you should mention that - having slept on it, and had a jolly good think while I'm doing yet more studio maintenance today, I'm pretty sure I'm just going to grab a rackmount 3XS PC from Scan at some point, get it set up and go with that.

I've got a healthy collection of softsynths on the Mac-I-don't-use-for-music-anymore (most of which I'm pretty certain won't run on XP) and the vast majority of them I can get the PC version for without further outlay, as the licences appear fairly generous. Not that I'll use them much, but hey, I paid for them so it seems churlish to throw them out with the bathwater :headbang:

Plan is to get it set up with Reaper, disconnect it from the Internet and feed it from the USB interface provided by the Qu16. Now that I installed the Samson SM10 mixer to submix a few less used synths down to the Qu (which is a relatively short term workaround until I upgrade the desk to something with more inputs - I'm rather liking the look of the A&H SQ series, but I'll see nearer the time), I can accomodate all the inputs I need so I think I need to stop being quite so idealistic and just make what's available work for me.

Then I can do a 6-monthly or so 'update everything' day, with backups to roll back to if it breaks anything, which seems a sensible compromise. I'll see what NAMM reveals first, but I'm not super optimistic on the hardware front - having trawled the interwebz it seems I may need to start thinking inside the box instead of out of it :lol:
User avatar
Eddy Deegan
Moderator
Posts: 5107
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
Some of my works
The 2nd SOS Forum Album project
 

Re: Multitracking using hardware

Postby Sam Spoons » Sun Jan 13, 2019 6:24 pm

I'd say you are embracing reality (whatever that is) once again Eddy, you know it makes sense........ :D
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14011
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Multitracking using hardware

Postby Alba » Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:57 pm

I think that you should stick to your guns Eddie. You've decided you want away from the computer and you have the Tascam. I'd say you're better digging out your old timecode reader/generator (Philip Rees TS1 was my choice but its long gone) stick a timecode track on your Tascam (you can generate one in your DAW and export it to the Tascam and re-use it of course.) And poke that timecode out of one of your two fx sends.

Its no different to having a DP32 (not the SD model) with a bit of midi cable hanging out the back just another wire.

Just my two €.
Alba
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1392
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 12:00 am
Location: Airstrip 1, Eurasia

Re: Multitracking using hardware

Postby Kwackman » Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:13 pm

Alba wrote:I think that you should stick to your guns Eddie. You've decided you want away from the computer and you have the Tascam. I'd say you're better digging out your old timecode reader/generator (Philip Rees TS1 was my choice but its long gone) stick a timecode track on your Tascam (you can generate one in your DAW and export it to the Tascam and re-use it of course.) And poke that timecode out of one of your two fx sends.

Each to their own.
I did the multitrack/sync SPMTE route for many years, and if I never see it again that's fine by me!
NOT having to stripe timecode unto tape(real or virtual), then having to use one of those sync boxes and their menus & buttons depending on whether is was writing timecode, or reading it, and then deciding the tempo for MTC etc. is one of the reasons I now happily use a computer!
Many swear words were used on a Fostex R8 and it's demonic side kick, the MTC-1 with a manual that the enigma machine would have struggled with. :thumbdown:
Much quicker (for me) to boot up a computer!
YMMV!
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2007
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

Re: Multitracking using hardware

Postby OneWorld » Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:28 pm

James Perrett wrote:
There would be nothing to stop you configuring something like Reaper to work and appear like a hardware multitracker.

Hmmmmmm...........thinks, because I am getting fed up with Cubase, and piled on top of that Win10 sticking its chozzer in every other week. Thing is, even with the exhalted Win7, even though I had my Music PC disconnected from the internet (well the NIC disabled) I still got update notifications for Win7, how could that happen if the thing was disconnected?

But your suggestion gives food for thought, but then again I suppose Carillion tried all that?
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2795
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Multitracking using hardware

Postby James Perrett » Mon Jan 14, 2019 10:30 pm

OneWorld wrote:But your suggestion gives food for thought, but then again I suppose Carillion tried all that?

Carillion just sold PC's optimised for music. I'm thinking more along the lines of iZ's Radar where the operating system is invisible and you just see the recording application. Have Reaper start automatically with a multitrack recording template and resist the temptation to use it as a general purpose computer. In fact, you could go as far as making the OS/applications disk read only so that you can't add any more stuff to the system without a great deal of effort.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 9943
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

PreviousNext