You are here

Akai DPS24 ADAT expansion card woes: no audio

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Akai DPS24 ADAT expansion card woes: no audio

Postby Kwackman » Wed Apr 14, 2021 1:44 pm

Red Herring time....
ADAT can be 8 channels of audio, or a single stereo feed.
From memory RME can switch between these modes in software.

Probably not relevant, but, just in case!
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2298
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

Re: Akai DPS24 ADAT expansion card woes: no audio

Postby blinddrew » Wed Apr 14, 2021 2:01 pm

Kwackman wrote:Red Herring time....
ADAT can be 8 channels of audio, or a single stereo feed.
From memory RME can switch between these modes in software.

Probably not relevant, but, just in case!
Just to be picky... ;)
The toslink optical connection can carry ADAT or SPDIF. ADAT can be up to 8 channels depending on sample rate. SPDIF is always stereo.
The socket is the same but the configuration isn't and needs to be set accordingly.
[/pedantry]
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14890
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Akai DPS24 ADAT expansion card woes: no audio

Postby Kwackman » Wed Apr 14, 2021 2:10 pm

blinddrew wrote:Just to be picky... ;)
The toslink optical connection can carry ADAT or SPDIF. ADAT can be up to 8 channels depending on sample rate. SPDIF is always stereo.
The socket is the same but the configuration isn't and needs to be set accordingly.
[/pedantry]

Drew, have you not got anything better to do, like spotting frequencies in choirs no other humans can hear? :madas: :protest: ;)

PS. You are correct of course, that was very sloppy terminology on my part.
I'll be in the corner huffing for the rest of the afternoon...... :cry:
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2298
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

Re: Akai DPS24 ADAT expansion card woes: no audio

Postby blinddrew » Wed Apr 14, 2021 2:32 pm

I'm sorry about the choir thing too. :(
But it's definitely there.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14890
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Akai DPS24 ADAT expansion card woes: no audio

Postby forumuser840717 » Wed Apr 14, 2021 2:37 pm

Yep, and all the RME's optical ports can function as either ADAT Lightpipe or SPDIF ports, as can the TOSLINK connection on the DPS24 itself. Hence asking whether there was a known working link passing clock and ADAT audio to use as a test source. I wondered whether the RME or DPS24 might be set to SPDIF on all or some of the ports.

If everything were set to SPDIF then obviously they'd sync up but wouldn't pass 8 channels of audio (and they'd show up in the DPS24 patch pages as a two channel link rather than 8 channel). Also, if the RME were set entirely to SPDIF, it wouldn't sync into the ADAT ports on the expansion board (as they don't do SPDIF) but could sync and send two channels into the DPS24's optical port if that were set to SPDIF. Gotta love digital formats!

The lack of output LEDs on the DPS24 expansion board isn't a good sign though.
forumuser840717
Regular
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 5:20 pm

Re: Akai DPS24 ADAT expansion card woes: no audio

Postby Anthony gilbert » Wed Apr 14, 2021 3:19 pm

forumuser840717 wrote: I wondered whether the RME or DPS24 might be set to SPDIF on all or some of the ports.

Thanks again for the suggestions. It's set to ADAT. One of the nice things about the RME software is it displays the source type and sample-rate of the incoming signal it syncs to. I've had previous RME Digiface products and they remain pretty good.

forumuser840717 wrote:The lack of output LEDs on the DPS24 expansion board isn't a good sign though.

Agreed. I've had the DPS24 open over my lunch break. I've checked the pins of the DPS24 option interface PCB. I've also checked the micro-ribbon cables to the interface PCB. The other end of these go underneath the main PCB and aren't visible. A strip-down looks to be a "fair job", and one which may break more items than it may fix.

Next step is to try another IB-24ADT expansion card, or find someone to test mine. I've made an enquiry with VST Services.
Anthony gilbert
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 11:17 am

Re: Akai DPS24 ADAT expansion card woes: no audio

Postby forumuser840717 » Wed Apr 14, 2021 4:50 pm

Anthony gilbert wrote:Thanks again for the suggestions. It's set to ADAT. One of the nice things about the RME software is it displays the source type and sample-rate of the incoming signal it syncs to. I've had previous RME Digiface products and they remain pretty good.

I'm a big RME fan. Since getting my first RME card - a Digi96/8 PST in about 2002 (still got it and it's still working fine in an old WinXP machine), I went on to get another one the same (sold a few years ago), then in 2005, an HDSP-MADI and, later, HDSPe-MADI and HDSPe-MADI-FX Triple MADI cards (all now gone in favour of external interfaces to make it easier to move them between computers). I currently have 19 assorted RME boxes - mostly MADI related - and couldn't be happier with them. If only all manufacturers were as reliable and straightforward.

A strip-down looks to be a "fair job", and one which may break more items than it may fix.

Definitely try another expansion board if you can get one, before taking everything apart. It's not terribly difficult to strip it down but it is generally fiddly, involving more screws than a screwy thing and, as the DPS is getting on in age now, there's lots of potential to accidentally make things worse so it's best avoided until you eliminate other possibilities.

If you don't get any joy with VST Services, it might be worth trying a post in the SOS Reader Ads Wanted section.

Failing that, I don't know whether you've tried it but there used to be a really good user board for the DPS products. I don't know how functional it still is but there's what looks like an archive of it here. If it's still running, there might be some sources of parts there or current users who might be able to help.

Please do let us know how this develops and any outcome as it'd be good to know what's wrong for future reference. All this chat about the DPS24 has reminded me what a great bit of kit it is and how much I miss mine. It took me ages to sell them as, even when I'd stopped using them, every time I started the sale process I was reminded how much I liked them and kept changing my mind :tongue:

One other thing - do you have the ak.Sys TrackView DPS24 PC software for the DPS24? It probably needs a fairly ancient PC to run it - mine was on WinXP - but it does have some useful facilites that make things like metering and editing clearer. There might be a version floating around online but if not and you think it'd be useful I probably still have it lurking on an old hard drive somewhere.
forumuser840717
Regular
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 5:20 pm

Re: Akai DPS24 ADAT expansion card woes: no audio

Postby Anthony gilbert » Wed Apr 14, 2021 5:09 pm

Please do let us know how this develops and any outcome as it'd be good to know what's wrong for future reference.
I certainly will do.
I thought I was an RME fan! It's not cheap but a classic case of getting what you pay for - especially the longevity of driver support. That's a rare thing these days.

This was my first post on the SOS forum and the response, knowledge and helpfulness has been quite overwhelming.

I've been an SOS reader since the days of Electronics & Music Maker. Never thought to ask the forum before today, and I'm now wondering why.

The DPS24 continues to impress (other than the obvious exception). I get 20 live mixer channels currently (12 analogue and 8 ADAT), using the old trick of armed track channels. I can output to the RME using an 8-buss output, or multi-passes of track-per-channel. Above all, I find it still delivers musical results whilst being intuitive and tactile.

I'll certainly keep on hunting for a solution to keep the old thing alive.

Thanks again everyone for your time and assistance.
Anthony gilbert
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 11:17 am

Previous