You are here

Cubase 11 not recording. GRRRRR

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Moderator: Moderators

Cubase 11 not recording. GRRRRR

Postby MadManDan » Wed Dec 02, 2020 8:53 am

Hello friends
I’ve been recording on Cubase for months now, so the following is driving me nuts.
I updated my Mac to Catalina os, and installed Cubase Pro 11. Seems to work great, but I CANNOT get my audio to record.

First, this is my Focusrite 18i8 (2nd gen). Latest software is on the Mac, latest firmware installed.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lt8sCK ... sp=sharing

You can see it getting signal here:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/11l2X76 ... sp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hkLk_8 ... sp=sharing

My studio setup looks fine:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1RDOiYv ... sp=sharing

And my audio connections too:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1eW966y ... sp=sharing

This is me adding a mono track:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZYI-2G ... sp=sharing

And me actually recording. Notice no signal in cubase, and nothing in the wav file.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1r1P5i1 ... sp=sharing


This is driving me NUTS. Anyone spot anything wrong?

Thanks

MadMAnDan
User avatar
MadManDan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Across the pond....New Yawk

Late '14 mini 3 GHz i7 16 GB
Catalina 10.15.7. Glyph atomic. FF Scarlet 18i8. 
Sup Drum 3. Cubase 11 Pro
iCon iKb 8x.  Mics, spkrs, 'phones, gtrs, greedy cat


Re: Cubase 11 not recording. GRRRRR

Postby RichardT » Wed Dec 02, 2020 9:31 am

MadManDan wrote:Hello friends
I’ve been recording on Cubase for months now, so the following is driving me nuts.
I updated my Mac to Catalina os, and installed Cubase Pro 11. Seems to work great, but I CANNOT get my audio to record.

First, this is my Focusrite 18i8 (2nd gen). Latest software is on the Mac, latest firmware installed.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lt8sCK ... sp=sharing

You can see it getting signal here:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/11l2X76 ... sp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hkLk_8 ... sp=sharing

My studio setup looks fine:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1RDOiYv ... sp=sharing

And my audio connections too:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1eW966y ... sp=sharing

This is me adding a mono track:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZYI-2G ... sp=sharing

And me actually recording. Notice no signal in cubase, and nothing in the wav file.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1r1P5i1 ... sp=sharing


This is driving me NUTS. Anyone spot anything wrong?

Thanks

MadMAnDan

Hmm, do you have an earlier version of Cubase installed? If so, can you see what happens there?
RichardT
Frequent Poster
Posts: 510
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 12:00 am
Location: London UK

Re: Cubase 11 not recording. GRRRRR

Postby Kwackman » Wed Dec 02, 2020 9:42 am

****NEW EDIT.****
Try Drew's excellent suggestion first!


I've loaded up Cubase 11 (on Mojave) and have compared my settings with yours, and it all looks similar.
One thing - In your image showing you adding a mono track, In the Audio Inputs drop down box it says "Scarlett 18i8 USB 1" (correct) but then there's "(." What does it say after that?
On my system, (different interface) I get the name of my input, but there's nothing in brackets after the input's name.

I've just spotted that your Focusrite firmware update is only 3 days old.
So, my money would be on something has changed in the Focusrite set-up. The image you posted shows signal getting to the hardware inputs, is there a page or box showing outputs to the software?
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2063
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

Re: Cubase 11 not recording. GRRRRR

Postby blinddrew » Wed Dec 02, 2020 9:42 am

It's not a permissions thing is it? Have you allowed cubase to access the microphone?
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12907
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Cubase 11 not recording. GRRRRR

Postby Matt Houghton » Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:45 pm

First thing is to check if there's a permissions issue. I've had that occur on a few installers where it didn't automatically ask me to give permissions.

Second thing is to test with another recording app — another version of Cubase, download Reaper, record something into Quicktime or whatever. Basically, this is to check that your Focusrite routing software is sending the signal out to other apps (the fact you have meters on its outputs could just be that it is monitoring the input signal).

It's an age since I used the Focusrite software, but I remember that at one time it was all too easy to screw up the routing without realising... and having updated it recently, it's possibly reverted to a different default than you usually use. Might not be the issue but definitely worth checking.
Matt Houghton
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1065
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 12:00 am
SOS Reviews Editor

Re: Cubase 11 not recording. GRRRRR

Postby MadManDan » Wed Dec 02, 2020 2:38 pm

Matt Houghton wrote:First thing is to check if there's a permissions issue. I've had that occur on a few installers where it didn't automatically ask me to give permissions.

Second thing is to test with another recording app — another version of Cubase, download Reaper, record something into Quicktime or whatever. Basically, this is to check that your Focusrite routing software is sending the signal out to other apps (the fact you have meters on its outputs could just be that it is monitoring the input signal).

It's an age since I used the Focusrite software, but I remember that at one time it was all too easy to screw up the routing without realising... and having updated it recently, it's possibly reverted to a different default than you usually use. Might not be the issue but definitely worth checking.
Excellent thoughts. Forgot to mention- quick time records that same signal fine
User avatar
MadManDan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Across the pond....New Yawk

Late '14 mini 3 GHz i7 16 GB
Catalina 10.15.7. Glyph atomic. FF Scarlet 18i8. 
Sup Drum 3. Cubase 11 Pro
iCon iKb 8x.  Mics, spkrs, 'phones, gtrs, greedy cat


Re: Cubase 11 not recording. GRRRRR

Postby MadManDan » Thu Dec 03, 2020 1:58 am

Matt Houghton wrote:First thing is to check if there's a permissions issue. I've had that occur on a few installers where it didn't automatically ask me to give permissions.
THANK YOU !!!!!! Solved it. Yes, after updating OS we can all usually expect to update things like permissions. We just don't find out the easy way! Btw, cubase 10.5 didn't have permission either, so I checked off that box too. Again thanks mate
User avatar
MadManDan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Across the pond....New Yawk

Late '14 mini 3 GHz i7 16 GB
Catalina 10.15.7. Glyph atomic. FF Scarlet 18i8. 
Sup Drum 3. Cubase 11 Pro
iCon iKb 8x.  Mics, spkrs, 'phones, gtrs, greedy cat


Re: Cubase 11 not recording. GRRRRR

Postby Matt Houghton » Thu Dec 03, 2020 9:56 am

Hurrah! :thumbup:
Matt Houghton
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1065
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 12:00 am
SOS Reviews Editor