You are here

Networking but no internet

Page 2 of 2

Re: Networking but no internet

PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 10:42 pm
by blinddrew
Hugh Robjohns wrote:and get into the kind of IP addressing that Drew described above
I never said a word guv! I wasn't even here!

Re: Networking but no internet

PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 10:47 pm
by The Elf
ef37a wrote:I am sure I tried Save Link as Elf and all I got was the, er, link! Not the .pdf
Quite simply... that means you weren't clicking on the PDF file link, but most likely to a link that was taking you to where the PDF was to be found!

In Firefox, if you look at the bottom of the window when you hover over a link, Firefox will tell you what that link is - you would want something with '.pdf' at the end.

Re: Networking but no internet

PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 10:50 pm
by Hugh Robjohns
blinddrew wrote:
Hugh Robjohns wrote:and get into the kind of IP addressing that Drew described above
I never said a word guv! I wasn't even here!

:oops: Oops, sorry... I meant Eddy...

Re: Networking but no internet

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 2:18 am
by Eddy Deegan
This is turning into a bit of a mountain out of a molehill.

If you want a PC on your network not to connect to the Internet under any circumstances, just set the default gateway to be the same as the IP address of the PC. It's really that simple.

The additional stuff about manual IP configurations and configuring the DHCP settings on the router is only to prevent the configuration from resetting itself on reboot. Of course you can Take It Or Leave It but it's really trivial stuff, takes little effort to set in stone forever (or until you decide to change/revert it), doesn't require additional hardware and is a lot less hassle than setting up certain printers or cameras I could mention!

Re: Networking but no internet

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 2:33 am
by Eddy Deegan
ef37a wrote:In fact I could uninstall Fire fox (the least worse one I have found so far!)
I cannot it seems get rid of IE 11? I don't use it much except it is the only browser I have found that does "Save Target As" which I often find useful. I suppose W10 will deny me that?

Uninstalling Firefox does not (and I think it's safe to say never will) get rid of IE but that's moot because you really shouldn't be using IE anyway. Even Microsoft say so, and only provide it for 'compatibility' purposes.

The only explanation I can think of to account for what you're saying would be if you'd previously assigned Firefox as the default application to open links, and after uninstalling it it may not have reverted that default back to IE.

Windows 10 will certainly not deny you the ability to right click and 'save link/target as...' (in whatever format the browser of choice presents that option). I do it all the time :)

Re: Networking but no internet

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:44 am
by ef37a
Sorry Eddy, didn't mean things to get into Civil Engineering!

I don't use IE except when FF throws a wobbly (and why does it update SO fekkin' often? )
I do get in a mess with PCs though. Only a day or so ago I got so hissed off with Oath adverts and them crashing in that I tried an ad blocker. I then recieved a very polite message from SOS that this was not good for them so I went into Options and changed 'something' . Did not stop the blocker or the message.

I then did a Restore to several hours before these events. Could not then log onto the internet at all! Reversed the Restore. Phew! Internet back but with blocker of course. Eventually found out how to stop it.
I shall content myself with pulling plugs when the time comes.

Dave.

Re: Networking but no internet

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 10:48 am
by The Elf
ef37a wrote:I don't use IE except when FF throws a wobbly (and why does it update SO fekkin' often? )
Because browser attacks are updated so often! ;)

Re: Networking but no internet

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:12 am
by Hugh Robjohns
Eddy Deegan wrote:...you really shouldn't be using IE anyway.

I suspect Dave is referring to IE generically when he really means the default browser in Win 10, which is 'Edge', of course. The very similar icon means a lot of people still think of it as IE.

H

Re: Networking but no internet

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:33 am
by ef37a
Hugh Robjohns wrote:
Eddy Deegan wrote:...you really shouldn't be using IE anyway.

I suspect Dave is referring to IE generically when he really means the default browser in Win 10, which is 'Edge', of course. The very similar icon means a lot of people still think of it as IE.

H

I don't have W10 Hugh..yet. I have used Edge a tiny bit on my son's laptop and found it dreadful!

Dave.

Re: Networking but no internet

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:49 pm
by wireman
Eddy Deegan wrote:This is turning into a bit of a mountain out of a molehill.

If you want a PC on your network not to connect to the Internet under any circumstances, just set the default gateway to be the same as the IP address of the PC. It's really that simple.

The additional stuff about manual IP configurations and configuring the DHCP settings on the router is only to prevent the configuration from resetting itself on reboot.

You need to be careful that the router does not give out the IP address you set manually on a computer to another device. Using high numbers in the range is probably going to avoid this in any case without any configuration.

Re: Networking but no internet

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 9:46 pm
by Eddy Deegan
wireman wrote:
Eddy Deegan wrote:This is turning into a bit of a mountain out of a molehill.

If you want a PC on your network not to connect to the Internet under any circumstances, just set the default gateway to be the same as the IP address of the PC. It's really that simple.

The additional stuff about manual IP configurations and configuring the DHCP settings on the router is only to prevent the configuration from resetting itself on reboot.

You need to be careful that the router does not give out the IP address you set manually on a computer to another device. Using high numbers in the range is probably going to avoid this in any case without any configuration.

I completely agree, that's why I wrote how to configure the DHCP leases on the router in my original post, but high numbers would probably be safe enough :clap: :thumbup:

Re: Networking but no internet

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2019 12:38 pm
by ef37a
wireman wrote:
Eddy Deegan wrote:This is turning into a bit of a mountain out of a molehill.

If you want a PC on your network not to connect to the Internet under any circumstances, just set the default gateway to be the same as the IP address of the PC. It's really that simple.

The additional stuff about manual IP configurations and configuring the DHCP settings on the router is only to prevent the configuration from resetting itself on reboot.

You need to be careful that the router does not give out the IP address you set manually on a computer to another device. Using high numbers in the range is probably going to avoid this in any case without any configuration.

Quite: like so much of technology, easy for them as knows.

In anycase I would be loathe to hack my TT router because if I did bugger up I doubt TT would be very useful and by definition I would have no internet.

Dave.