You are here

Tempo

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Tempo

Postby joecc » Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:27 pm

Hi there,
I'm using Reason and Adobe Audition, when I cut a loop (its speed is 100BPM) how do I match this w my track (at 120BPM) with changing pitch....??

thanks,
joe
joecc
Poster
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Tempo

Postby BJG145 » Sun Aug 01, 2010 9:43 pm

Is this a drum loop...? (If so, the usual way is to use some beat slicing tool, like ReCycle...)
User avatar
BJG145
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4604
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: Tempo

Postby joecc » Tue Aug 03, 2010 9:29 pm

It's a drum loop with a riff (i hope to eq out the main beats)....
So its speed is at 100bpm, my project is at 120...how will i speed up sample, whilst keep the pitch?

thanks,
joe
joecc
Poster
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Tempo

Postby narcoman » Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:37 pm

You'll not have much joy eqing out beats - but just cut the sample up on each beat. Easy peasy to move it around to {nearly} any tempo. What DAW are you using?
narcoman
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3439
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Battenburg to the power of 20 - said by Richie Royale in a moment of genius. 4pm. Wed 16th Nov 2011. Remember where you were....

Re: Tempo

Postby joecc » Wed Aug 04, 2010 9:51 pm

So what you are saying is if it's a bar loop, cut it into 4 individual beats? (assuming 4 beats in the bar)....

I'm using Reason....thanks...
joecc
Poster
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Tempo

Postby narcoman » Wed Aug 04, 2010 10:03 pm

joecc wrote:So what you are saying is if it's a bar loop, cut it into 4 individual beats? (assuming 4 beats in the bar)....

I'm using Reason....thanks...

No. Cut on every transient hit of the drum kit. For a small shift like you're looking at it'll work - unless the rhythm is really unusual. So this includes hit hat hits, snare hits, kick etc etc. It'll be something like 8 or so parts per bar - depending on what's happening.
narcoman
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3439
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Battenburg to the power of 20 - said by Richie Royale in a moment of genius. 4pm. Wed 16th Nov 2011. Remember where you were....

Re: Tempo

Postby joecc » Wed Aug 04, 2010 10:22 pm

The 'bit' that I want is an instrumental passage, about two-bars long, with beats underneath.....All I really want is the instrumental passage, minus the beats....can't be eq'd out though??

thanks
joecc
Poster
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Tempo

Postby A Non O Miss » Wed Aug 04, 2010 10:35 pm

Why not just take the 100bpm into Audition Edit mode and use the time stretch effect, preserve pitch and a ratio of 120. That should do it.
A Non O Miss
Regular
Posts: 321
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:00 am

Re: Tempo

Postby The Elf » Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:40 am

If the ‘beat’ in your loop is a kick drum (the only part that can really be considered as being 'underneath') then you might get away with a high-pass filter to take out much of its bottom end, but you’ll also affect any other low instruments, typically bass. This works best when you’re going to add another kick or bass over the loop. A narrow notch filter might do a decent job if you’re careful to hone in carefully on the kick’s fundamental frequency.

If there’s much more to the ‘beat’ (e.g. snare, hats, percussion, etc.), then it’s going to be tough trying to reduce them all without significantly impacting the rest of the audio, but some exacting work with more notch filtering might get you something that will work behind other audio parts.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15048
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.