You are here

Can someone PLEASE help me with chaining two units?

Page 1 of 1

Can someone PLEASE help me with chaining two units?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2020 6:41 pm
by gjdagis
I have a Roland VT-4 which I want to use as the computer interface since I have ordered a DBX pre-amp that doesn't have a USB output. The Roland VT-4 ALSO has a pre-amp. Do I connect the Roland mike input XLR to the DBX Line Output 1/4 jack or to the DBX 1/4 INSERT jack? I want to be ale to use the effects (compressor etc.) from the DBX, of course or I would just use the Roland pre-amp by itself. Again, the chain is Computer to Roland to DBX to Mike.Thanks so much!

George

Re: Can someone PLEASE help me with chaining two units?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2020 12:24 am
by Watchmaker
You'll need another interface to do this. Simplest thing would be to take the line out from the VT-4 and connect it to the Line in on the dbx and take the line out from the dbx and connect it to a line in on the interface. That way you can retain functionality of both devices.

I don't think plugging the VT-4 into the dbx insert path is a good idea as it does not accept line level input and you may well cook it.

Re: Can someone PLEASE help me with chaining two units?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2020 1:12 pm
by gjdagis
Thank you, Watchmaker

I realized that my VT-4 doesn't have a line in port so I am effectively screwed trying to route it the way that I want to. I guess I am forced to purchase a Focusright Scarlett. :( I was hoping to use the VT-4 as an interface with the DBX feeding INTO the VT-4 and the VT-4 into the computer. Woe is me! LOL

Re: Can someone PLEASE help me with chaining two units?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2020 3:40 pm
by James Perrett
You could use an attenuator or even a DI box to match the two but I'm not sure whether this will really achieve much (if any) improvement in sound.

Re: Can someone PLEASE help me with chaining two units?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2020 4:19 pm
by gjdagis
Thank you kindly for your reply. I will investigate this! :)