You are here

Clicks when creating loops in Reaper.

Page 1 of 1

Clicks when creating loops in Reaper.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:24 am
by Arpangel
I normally record Midi loops in Reaper, all is fine, no problems.
But lately I’ve been experimenting with audio loops, and I always get clicks at the start and end of loops, no matter how I edit them, playing with small volume curves, the clicks are always there. I understand that it’s good to edit at a "zero crossing" in the waveform, but I’m wondering if there’s a setting somewhere in Reaper that does this automatically?

Re: Clicks when creating loops in Reaper.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2020 9:36 am
by shufflebeat
The fade in/out is normally my friend in this situation but maybe that's what you refer to when you talk about volume curve.

I'm surprised sometimes how long I can push a fade, particularly out, before it starts to become obvious.

One of the good things is, wherever you choose to edit will become a zero point when the fade kicks in.

Re: Clicks when creating loops in Reaper.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2020 9:38 am
by Arpangel
shufflebeat wrote:The fade in/out is normally my friend in this situation but maybe that's what you refer to when you talk about volume curve.

I'm surprised sometimes how long I can push a fade, particularly out, before it starts to become obvious.

Yes, I try that, sometimes it works, depends on the nature of the loop, getting a seamless fade. I’ve got to investigate Ableton, as it may be more suitable in this regard.

Re: Clicks when creating loops in Reaper.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2020 9:43 am
by shufflebeat
It's been a while since I've needed to do this but when editing drums for sampling I found fade *type* was also pretty situation-specific. It must have been Reaper because I havent used anything else for a few years.

Now you've piqued my curiosity, I'll investigate later.

Re: Clicks when creating loops in Reaper.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:09 am
by Hugh Robjohns
Arpangel wrote:I’ve been experimenting with audio loops, and I always get clicks at the start and end of loops, no matter how I edit them, playing with small volume curves, the clicks are always there. I understand that it’s good to edit at a "zero crossing" in the waveform...

Editing at a zero crossing does not guarantee a click-less edit. It very much depends on what the audio is doing either side of the zero-crossing point!

Clickless edits are entirely dependent on the placement of the edit relative to the wanted sound, and the duration and shape of the cross-fade. It's not rocket science, but it does take some experience and often some experimentation to find the best solution for each situation.

Re: Clicks when creating loops in Reaper.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:29 am
by Arpangel
Hugh Robjohns wrote:
Arpangel wrote:I’ve been experimenting with audio loops, and I always get clicks at the start and end of loops, no matter how I edit them, playing with small volume curves, the clicks are always there. I understand that it’s good to edit at a "zero crossing" in the waveform...

Editing at a zero crossing does not guarantee a click-less edit. It very much depends on what the audio is doing either side of the zero-crossing point!

Clickless edits are entirely dependent on the placement of the edit relative to the wanted sound, and the duration and shape of the cross-fade. It's not rocket science, but it does take some experience and often some experimentation to find the best solution for each situation.

Thanks Hugh, I’ll continue to experiment, but I was just wondering if any DAW's are better at fades/ cross-fades than others? I used Samplitude for awhile, and the editor in that was a lot more comprehensive, but maybe it’s not necessary.

Re: Clicks when creating loops in Reaper.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2020 12:00 pm
by shufflebeat
Can't find the old drum edit project at the minute but sparked up Reaper and had a look. If memory serves it was the "S" shaped curve that was the most transparent for me.

Apologies if I'm "egg-sucking" teaching here but I'm constantly finding out things that others assume are obvious so I assume nothing.

Re: Clicks when creating loops in Reaper.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2020 2:38 pm
by James Perrett
In Reaper click on a problem loop, press F2 and take a look at the top right corner of the window that appears. You'll see the fade time and fade shape for the start and end of the loop. It is also worth making sure that you don't have snapping enabled when doing fine edits.

Re: Clicks when creating loops in Reaper.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 6:42 am
by Arpangel
James Perrett wrote:In Reaper click on a problem loop, press F2 and take a look at the top right corner of the window that appears. You'll see the fade time and fade shape for the start and end of the loop. It is also worth making sure that you don't have snapping enabled when doing fine edits.

Thanks James, snapping? Yes, that could be an issue, I use it sometimes, and I’m terrible at noticing things that should be off, I forget, I’ll also try the S curve as well.

Re: Clicks when creating loops in Reaper.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 10:48 am
by Martin Walker
Yes, I find myself switching Snapping on and off an awful lot for time alignment of imported tracks, and tweaking of the odd note in otherwise great performances.


Martin

Re: Clicks when creating loops in Reaper.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 8:29 am
by Arpangel
Martin Walker wrote:Yes, I find myself switching Snapping on and off an awful lot for time alignment of imported tracks, and tweaking of the odd note in otherwise great performances.


Martin

I often find myself tweaking thousands of notes in what are otherwise terrible performances.

:D