You are here

Patchbay newb...

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Moderator: Moderators

Patchbay newb...

Postby siderealxxx » Wed May 14, 2014 6:45 pm

Although a seasoned production veteran (!), I am new to patchbays and for all the usual reasons I now need to get one. But I've read quite a bit around the subject and it looks like it's more complicated than I realised! What I need is a real world example to get my head round it. If I could outline my main intention with it and if anyone cares to provide any pointers I'd be grateful!

My interface is a Fireface 800 and I no longer have a mixer, but I do have various bits of outboard gear I still wish to utilise: dual channel mic pre-amp, stereo/dual compressor, stereo effects unit and a few synths.

What would be helpful is if I could think about a couple of typical scenarios and what kind of Patchbay I would need (I don't understand the practical uses of normalised/half etc) and how they would be set up. For example:

1/ I'm recording vocals and I wish to patch the pre-amp into the compressor whilst tracking.
2/ I wish to send an output from Logic to the outboard effect unit and record the signal back in.
3/ I'd like 2 synth outputs to be wired to the FF800 inputs 7-8 (via patchbay) indefinitely but without the need for physically patching (in case I need the input).

These might seem like simple scenarios but I essentially only have 8 line inputs/ouputs on the FF800 and wish to be able to have everything on tap and ready to go. At the moment I keep having to rewire and it's highly impractical.

On this basis what kind of patchbay would I want and how should it be configured.

Any thoughts appreciated - thanks in advance!
siderealxxx
Regular
Excess makes the heart grow fonder

Re: Patchbay newb...

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Wed May 14, 2014 7:20 pm

What you describe is pretty straight forward. Have a read of these articles for a good primer: