You are here

Reference Mixing

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Reference Mixing

Postby outcast99 » Thu Sep 10, 2020 5:27 pm

Hey guys,

Im new to mixing and i know the songs i want to reference mix however i am trying to figure out the concept.

I currently use logic, how can i get the actualy songs into my daw? I read its not good to use mp3 so how would i be able to then? I have apple music, is there any way maybe i can transfer them into logic?

Im assuming there is a software to upload them into logic?

Any help would be much appreciated as this has been giving me a hard time!

Thanks!!
outcast99
New here

Re: Reference Mixing

Postby desmond » Thu Sep 10, 2020 5:43 pm

Just drag the files into Logic.
You ideally want good quality files of course...

No, you can't really use streaming services for this as you don't have access to the files to load them into your DAW. You can use your computer to "record" them but that's probably against the TOU of the streaming service, so you'll really want to own the files you're using.
desmond
Jedi Poster
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Postby MOF » Thu Sep 10, 2020 6:02 pm

Probably not a good idea to have them in Logic since you’ll most likely have output bus plugins processing your track. These will have to be disabled before listening to the reference track and then activated again to listen to your track.
Better to listen to the reference track in iTunes or Preview.
The mp3 ideally should be replaced with a CD quality version but so long as it’s a high quality mp3 it should be fine. You’re listening to eq, compression, effects etc.
MOF
Frequent Poster

Postby The Elf » Thu Sep 10, 2020 7:57 pm

I'm sure Logic will allow you to route the reference to a 'clean' output.
The Elf
Jedi Poster
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Postby Kwackman » Thu Sep 10, 2020 8:24 pm