You are here

Is Audio MIDI Setup not a router?

Page 1 of 1

Is Audio MIDI Setup not a router?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2020 2:10 am
by jellyjim
Hello

Is the MIDI bit of the MacOS system app "Audio MIDI Setup" not a MIDI router? The UI sure seems to imply it!

I have all my hardware appearing as USB interfaces and I can use the test facility to confirm they're online etc. I can make connections between the various ports (and double click a device to turn send and receive channels on and off and various other settings) but it doesn't seem to actually make a connection.

Am I misunderstanding the purpose of the program?

Basically I want to make various connections between my hardware devices without having to boot up a DAW.

I've seen MIDIpipe but something about it puts me off it.

Thanks
Jim

Re: Is Audio MIDI Setup not a router?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2020 11:13 pm
by BobTheDog
It is not a router.

You might like https://notahat.com/midi_patchbay/

Re: Is Audio MIDI Setup not a router?

PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2020 2:14 am
by jellyjim
BobTheDog wrote:It is not a router.

You might like https://notahat.com/midi_patchbay/

Good answer!

It's not what you thought it was.

Here's an alternative,

Message ends.

:thumbup: