You are here

Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

Page 1 of 1

Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2021 3:02 pm
by Scarab
Hi,

Pile of stuff: MAC Mini, Behringer UMC204 (borrowed) audio interface (with MIDI), Roland JV-1010 module, Keylab Essential 49 controller. (Various DAW Logic, Reaper, Ableton , all trials at moment) (also cheap MIDI in/out usb interface), RCF monitors.

This is a don't need to do it but want to do it situation but have probably got better things to do.

Keylab to computer, no problem.
Behringer audio no problem. Both USB

Really want to try connecting MIDI out of behringer to Roland JV1010, because I've got one, and don't just want to throw away/put away. Can't remember if I tried the cheap interface, now, reconnected things so many times!

In MIDI/AUDIO setup
Chain goes (Keylab USB to computer)
1: Keylab port 1 out to..
>..... Behringer Port in

2: Behringer Port out to...
...external synth IN

Physical connections: Keylab USB to MAC, Behringer USB to MAC,
BEhringer MIDI out cable to MIDI in JV-1010
JV-1010 audio out to BEhringer audio in. ( I know for certain the cables work)

Using the test midi: I can see/hear the Keylab is connected
clicking MIDI out of Behringer produces sound from JV1010 (must remember to turn volume down next time!)

So looks like there is no functioning connection between Keylab to Behringer.

Am I just doing something really stupid? You needn't answer that one, I'm on my case already.

Is it that I can only control the module directly from the physical MIDI out of Keylab?

The only other thing I can think of trying is taking up Yoga and going to live somewhere where there is no electricity.

Thanks
Rob

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2021 4:16 pm
by Sam Spoons
I can't tell from your post* if you are using the DIN midi out from the Keylab into the UMC204? I guess you've proved the Keylab to JV connection using it but if you are relying on the Keylab USB for getting midi into the DAW then that could be the issue as you'll probably need to enable a 'thru' somewhere. I'd guess you would also need to activate a 'soft thru' in the UMC if using the DIN midi in too but not sure.

Welcome BTW :thumbup:

* I may be missing something obvious :blush:

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2021 4:18 pm
by Tomás Mulcahy
Audio MIDI setup does not have MIDI THRU. You have to route the keylab to the Roland inside the DAW. Same as you would route it to a synth plugin.

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2021 6:47 pm
by blakedirksen
A related question, do many people utilize MIDI out from their DAW? I have always looked at that port and wondered what use that would have (I work totally in the box). Is it mostly legacy stuff or is there some clever use I am totally missing?

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2021 7:41 pm
by desmond
blakedirksen wrote:A related question, do many people utilize MIDI out from their DAW? I have always looked at that port and wondered what use that would have (I work totally in the box). Is it mostly legacy stuff or is there some clever use I am totally missing?

It comes in handy when you have a room full of MIDI gear.

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2021 9:59 pm
by The Elf
Yeah, a MIDI output can sometimes come in handy for the odd bit of gear we have lying around that's not a plug-in :lol: ;) ...
Image

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2021 10:59 pm
by blinddrew
Are those circular rings at the back a massive fan to keep the whole lot cool?

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2021 11:00 pm
by desmond
Magic Toadstool fumes.

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2021 11:01 pm
by blakedirksen
That is a pretty awesome pic and I get not wanting to lose out on legacy gear. Do you then have to run the signal back into your DAW? I have some old keyboards and such but have NO interest in hearing those sounds/samples ever again.

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2021 11:06 pm
by The Elf
blinddrew wrote:Are those circular rings at the back a massive fan to keep the whole lot cool?
Ah, the magic of light-mapping! ;)

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2021 11:13 pm
by The Elf
blakedirksen wrote:That is a pretty awesome pic and I get not wanting to lose out on legacy gear.
:D

blakedirksen wrote:Do you then have to run the signal back into your DAW?
It all just comes in via my audio interface - it's pretty simple, really, and no trouble.

blakedirksen wrote:I have some old keyboards and such but have NO interest in hearing those sounds/samples ever again.
I've no interest in samples, which are just 1s and 0s to me (I'm not interested in the 'magic' of 12 bit grungery...), but as much as I like some plug-ins, none of them reacts truly like my old analogue gear. And then there's the performance aspect...

Re: Old hardware with New(er) Mac What am I doing wrong?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2021 6:52 pm
by blakedirksen
Thanks for the comments. I will dig into it a bit more (always fun to add new ideas to the VERY long list of fun things to try).