You are here

Lost settings for automap-wrapped plugs?

Page 1 of 1

Lost settings for automap-wrapped plugs?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2021 5:14 pm
by nhirst
Hola,

I've recently updated MacBook to Catalina and therefore lost Novation Automap. Prior to this I tended to use the automap-wrapped versions of plugs as a matter of course.

One thing I hadn't figured before I made the switch was that none of my automap-wrapped plugins would load. Which means I seem to have lost all my plugin settings that were stored with Logic sessions - things like BFD drum kits and Arturia synth settings.

Obviously I still have the non-wrapped versions of the plugins but I'm trying to figure out if there's anyway to port across the plugin settings from the automap-wrapped instances?

I had to do a fresh OS install + reinstall of all plugins but have everything manually backed up, including preferences etc.

Thanks in faint hope.

N

Re: Lost settings for automap-wrapped plugs?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2021 5:38 pm
by desmond
Automap was a horrible kludge and yes, you will have these kinds of problems without Automap because you were effectively using completely different, modified automapped plugins rather than the proper versions.

Presumably you backed up your old system before doing a major system upgrade in the event of just these kind of unexpected issues, so I'd boot back to that, and migrate your settings by saving out patches/presets etc which you can then load into the new system - very tedious, but that's Automap for you.

Re: Lost settings for automap-wrapped plugs?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2021 5:58 pm
by nhirst
Sadly I can’t reboot to previous state - was having all kids of time machine and os issues which was why I had to update to Catalina (without really wanting to). Whole system drive backed up manually using target disk mode so I have things like preferences / presets files.

Re: Lost settings for automap-wrapped plugs?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2021 6:00 pm
by nhirst
I guess I could manually install 10.14, plus logic and all plugins and do it that way. But frankly having spend several days sorting Catalina I’m loath to if there is a hack.

Re: Lost settings for automap-wrapped plugs?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2021 6:35 pm
by desmond
You won't be able to convert settings between them because as far as the OS and Logic goes, the plugin, and the automapped version of the plugin are two different plugins, they have different identifiers.

I don't think there's anything you can do short of having a working old system with the automapped plugins installed that you can manually transfer settings over from. Maybe google around for other automap users as you'll be far from the first person facing this - maybe someone's found a neat hack or something...

Re: Lost settings for automap-wrapped plugs?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2021 6:56 pm
by nhirst
Is what I feared. Thanks for your help sir.