You are here

Cubase Elements or PreSonus Studio One Artist for my needs?

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Cubase Elements or PreSonus Studio One Artist for my needs?

Postby midix » Fri Feb 16, 2018 2:14 pm

I'm a hobbyist, creating electronic ambient, new age, epic kinds of music (VSTi instruments mostly, no live audio, no samples) to express myself and to share it with friends.

I looked at Cubase demo videos for their chords tools and they seem exciting - I have some really basic music understanding and often get stuck when finding the right chords for my melodies to express the exact emotion I need at that moment in time. Cubase Elements has limited chords tools, but that might still be enough. Not sure.

Cubase Elements costs around 100 and includes everything I need to get started and supports external VSTs. It has artificial track and VST slot limits but I might be OK with that (also I might be able to bypass VST limitation with some chainer plugin).

The next tempting option would be PreSonus Studio One Artist - costs also around 100 but a big caveat - has no external VST! I have to buy it for about 80 which in total makes 180. That's the maximal limit I'm willing to spend.

I would never upgrade to Pro (nor Cubase, nor Studio One).

If Studio One had an alternative to Cubase chord tools, I would pick the Artist edition + VST support. Maybe there is some third party Studio One Artist compatible plugin or VSTi to help with chord progressions and composing?

So, essentially it boils down to this: which limited DAW is better investment for my needs:

- Cubase Elements - 100 EUR, limited tracks and VST slots but really useful chord tools and great MIDI editor