You are here

Live sound engineers survey

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Live sound engineers survey

Postby jpabloxp » Thu Sep 14, 2017 9:03 am

Hi,

I'm currently doing scientific research on mobile devices which can tangibly mimic a mixing console interface. However, I'm not an audio engineer and thus I don't really know the work practices and needs you all face when working on a venue.

I'm looking for audio engineers to fill a small survey to help better understand some of the difficulties they face while working. Here is a link to the survey: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfYfPWPPB-BN2Fr0w5mw-gZwUv9e5v9VVcPDku8HxMpW4U6bg/viewform

Thanks in advance for the help!
jpabloxp

Re: Live sound engineers survey

Postby Dave B » Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:18 pm

I've wondered about the concept that you call 'emergeables' now for many years - it seems the next step on from touch screen technology : tactile surfaces that can be configured as the ui changes. Very star trek, I know, but it foes seem like the next way forward. I'll keep an eye on it now that I know what people are calling it.
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi
(I came, I saw, I conkered)

Postby jpabloxp » Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:57 pm

I also encourage the community to talk openly about your practices and needs with remote mixing :)
jpabloxp

Postby Wonks » Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:17 pm

You really don't want to hear about Dave's 'practices'. ;)
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Now even grumpier than Ivan in his heyday.

Postby Wonks » Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:22 pm

One of the problems with remote mixing (and you'll find threads on it here) , is getting a reliable wi-fi signal.

I've used Dave's system and it wasn't reliable, when you need it to be 100% solid. The powered speakers themselves put out enough interference to seriously degrade the wi-fi quality, let alone the amount of mobile phones in a big audience all clamouring for a wi-fi connection and taking up the bandwidth.